All Guides: NS 472: Leadership and Management: Searching

Search QuickSearch (limited to Nursing)

How Do I Search PubMed?

PubMed Subject Search: How It Works
This interactive tutorial will help you understand how to complete a basic search in PubMed. Developed by the National Institutes of Health.

How Do I Search CINAHL?

CINAHL Databases: Advanced Searching Tutorial
Learn how to search on a topic and combine terms using search history and MeSH or Medical Subject Headings

Search for Research Articles

CINAHL Complete
Cumulative index to journal literature in nursing and allied health, plus evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons & research instrument tools.
PubMed
Provides access to citations in medical, nursing, dental, and research journals back to 1840.
Cochrane Library
Full-text access discontinued due to FY17 budget cuts. Citation only access. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and other evidence-based databases.
Nursing & Allied Health Database
Abstracting and indexing for literature in the nursing and related fields, as well as full-text articles and dissertations.
PsycInfo (PsycNET)
Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1600s.
Google Scholar
Find citations for scholarly literature with links to subscription content at the Consortium Library.

Turning Research Into Practice (TRIP)
Clinician focused evidence-based content.

Other Databases

Questions in the health arena can cross many disciplines. Your question might have an educational aspect or business slant. Databases on this page cover nutrition, complementary and alternative health, as well as consumer health topics.

Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database that indexes 8,500 journals cover-to-cover, and provides citation indexing features.

Business Source Premier
Provides access to business articles from financial, banking, and industry publications worldwide.
ERIC : Education Resources Information Center
The world`s largest source of education information, with more than 1 million abstracts of documents and journal articles.
Web of Science
Search across Web of Science Core Collection databases to access the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as well as conference proceedings.

UpToDate
Point-of-Care tool that uses the International GRADE system or Grading of Recommendations Assessment, Development, and Evaluation for clinical recommendations. Alternate Name: Up To Date

Nursing Librarian

Jennifer McKay

Contact:

UAA/APU Consortium Library
Alaska Medical Library Office #202B
907-786-1611

Subjects: Health / Nursing / Medicine