All Guides: Company Information: Company Information

Find a Company in Alaska

Business License Database from the Alaska Department of Commerce
Find companies that are licensed in the state of Alaska. Select "Current Only" if helpful. Search by company name to determine a company's primary industry.
Alaska Employers from the Alaska Department of Labor
Use this to identify companies that operate in Alaska by location and industry.

Small Company Information

Access World News
Full-text content from local, regional, national, and international newspapers. Also includes content from blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. newspaper, newspapers

In addition to the company website, take a look at these sources to find information about a small or local company. Keep in mind that information about small companies can be proprietary and difficult to find.

Reference Solutions
Data on businesses, health care providers, and consumers. Company information is searchable by SIC/NAICS codes or key words, and sortable by size of company, company income, geographic location, etc. This is a great resource for marketing studies.

Databases for Company Information

These databases provide specialized information about companies. A company's website is also a rich source of information.

Mergent Online
In-depth business and financial information for over 11,000 U.S. public companies and over 1 million private companies. Includes presentation-quality, one-page summary equity reports, updated quarterly, for more than 1,500 NYSE, NASDAQ and AMEX companies. Financial data can be downloaded into Microsoft Excel.
Business Source Premier / Business Searching Interface
Select the "Company Profiles" link to view the A-Z list of company profiles from MarketLine.
Westlaw Campus Research
Select the "Company Investigator" link and search for a business.
Reference Solutions
Data on businesses, health care providers, and consumers. Company information is searchable by SIC/NAICS codes or key words, and sortable by size of company, company income, geographic location, etc. This is a great resource for marketing studies.

News, Trade, and Journal Sources for Company Information

ProQuest One Business
Business-related database provides access to company, industry, and country reports, scholarly journals and ebooks, videos, dissertations, newspapers, and more. Includes content from ABI/INFORM and J.P. Morgan Research.
Business Source Premier
Provides access to business articles from financial, banking, and industry publications worldwide.
Regional Business News
Local business publications in the U.S.
Wall Street Journal
Financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.

Contact Me

Jodi Jacques

Email Me

Contact:

jmjacques@alaska.edu
Library 301C

907-786-1895

Subjects: Business / Accounting