Skip to main content

Mat-Su College: Anthropology

A guide for students taking Anthropology courses at Mat-Su College.

Journal articles

When professors and librarians talk about "journal articles," "peer-reviewed articles, "scholarly articles," or "academic articles," they are using different words that mean the same thing. They are talking about the articles where researchers, professors, scientists, etc., have presented the results of some kind of research, investigation, or experiment.

The library has many databases that collect scholarly articles. A database is a searchable collection of articles.

Some databases focus on collecting articles about a specific subject, like biology or sports. We don't have any databases for just anthropology, so you can use QuickSearch. QuickSearch is a tool that will search many databases at once.

QuickSearch

Some databases focus on collecting articles about a specific subject, like biology or sports. But for subjects like history, paramedicine, or anthropology, where we have no dedicated databases, we can use QuickSearch. QuickSearch is a tool that will search many databases at once.

Click here to enter QuickSearch. Quicksearch is also the default search box on the Mat-Su College Library website.

On the QuickSearch search page, you can quickly limit your results to a particular discipline with a single click. Here is an example of searching for anthropology articles:

Screenshot of QuickSearch advanced search interface, with the "Anthropology" discipline selected

In the search results, click on the title of an item to read it, or click the quotation mark icon in order to generate a citation:

Screenshot of QuickSearch search results page

Databases with some anthropology articles

While none of our databases focuses on anthropology specifically, some do a good job of covering the social sciences generally. You might try...