Skip to main content

Budget Reductions at the Library

Budget reductions have caused resources to be eliminated at the Consortium Library

In This Guide

Resources Eliminated

List of over 50 databases eliminated due to a reduction in the library's budget of a total $1,911,162 over 5 years from FY15-FY19.

Access Engineering
Thousands of articles from over 150 titles covering major areas of engineering including civil, electrical, environmental, and mechanical.
ACS Journals
Full text of 50 American Chemical Society journals, from 1996 - present.
AgeLine
Covers the literature on social gerontology, including aging-related content from health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics & public policy.
America: History & Life
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Anthropological Literature
Index of literature in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Covers publications from the early 19th century to the present.
Anthropology Plus
Anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies.
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
Select full text articles in applied science and technology.
Arctic & Antarctic Regions
World's largest collection of international polar databases. Over 1 million records covering multidisciplinary research on cold regions, spanning from 1800 to the present.
Art Full Text
Select full text articles in art.
ASHRAE Handbook
Expert-reviewed information on cooling, freezing, or storing food and other perishable products.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Citations to sources of biographical information for over three million people, covering contemporary and historical figures around the world.
Biography Reference Bank
In-depth profiles of over 500,000 people from ancient times to the present.
BrowZine
An app for browsing and reading academic journals on iPad, Android, and Kindle Fire tablets.
Cochrane Library
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and other evidence-based databases.
ComAbstracts
Provides the most comprehensive coverage of the communication discipline's first line scholarship.
Congressional
Index to U. S. Congressional documents, including full-text for congressional hearings, reports, bills, and documents.
Contemporary Women's Issues
Provides full-text access to global information on women.
Credo Reference
Covers every major subject, offering more than 560 highly-regarded titles from over 80 publishers
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Index of major journals, books, and reports in criminology and related disciplines.
DynaMed
Evidence-based point of care resource.
EconLit
Citations for journal articles, books & working papers on economics.
Education Full Text
Select full-text articles on education-related topics from 1996 to the present.
Foundation Directory Online
Most comprehensive and current online source on foundation grants. NOTE! Available in the Consortium Library only.
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online
Database of programs that award grants to individuals. NOTE! Available in the Consortium Library only.
GEOBASE
Worldwide literature on geography, geology, and ecology.
GIDEON
Diagnosis, epidemiology, therapy, and microbiology of infectious diseases.
GrantStation
Comprehensive resource for locating current information on all types of grant funders. No remote access, available only inside the Consortium Library.
HaPI
Citations for health and psychosocial instruments.
Historical Abstracts
Covers world history, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 A.D. to the present.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.
International Index to Music Periodicals
Covers nearly all aspects of the world of music.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database
Evidence-based practice (EBP) resources for the healthcare industry.
Journal Citation Reports
Bibliometric analysis on academic journals in the sciences and social sciences.
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments
Peer-reviewed video journal shows scientific research in a visual format.
LexisNexis Academic
Provides full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, legal, and reference publications.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text
Select full text articles from 1994 to the present.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Mango Languages
Self-paced online language learning program for over 60 languages including English as a Second Language.
MathSciNet
Comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Comprehensive guide to over 2700 contemporary testing instruments.
Naxos Music Library
Broad collection of online music from over 16,000 album and 248,000 tracks. Includes opera synopses and libretti, composer and artist biographies, and more. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Comprehensive collection of jazz music online with 22,000 tracks from 2,300 albums representing over 500 jazz artists. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
New York Times Historical
Full-text and full-image articles from 1851-2007 including digital reproductions of every page from most issues.
Niles' Register
Cumulative index to the newsweekly covering major developments in the U.S. and the world from 1811-1849.
Occupational Safety Videos
Over 150 online videos for safety and compliance training for any work place environment covering equipment, chemicals, indoors, outdoors, work areas, labeling, fire safety and many other topics.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Provides a broad variety of data on current social topics.
Philosopher's Index
Indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy.
PsycCritiques
Reviews of books and films published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
Psychology Database
Over 500 full text academic journals in psychology and related fields. Also includes other content such as dissertations and instructional videos.
RILM Music Abstracts
Abstracts of Music Literature.
Safari Books Online
Selected titles in computer science, engineering and business. The license allows only 2 simultaneous users.
Social Services Abstracts
Abstracts for social work, human services, and related areas. (Formerly Social Work Abstracts)
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts on all aspects of sociology and related disciplines
SPORTDiscus
Index of sport, fitness, and related disciplines. This subscription is limited to four simultaneous users.
Teen Health and Wellness
Comprehensive research database and self-help resource on health-related issues for and about teens.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
A catalog of news broadcasts.

Subject Liaisons

If you have questions or concerns, please contact your subject Librarian.

Contact Me

Jodee Kuden's picture
Jodee Kuden
Contact:
Head of Collection Development
Rm 116B
786-1875