All Guides: PSY A473 Psychological Testing: Useful Databases

Related Guides

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan
Use interlibrary loan requests to get books, discs, and scans of articles, chapters, and even tests and reviews of tests.

APA Handbooks for Testing and for Research

Testing and Assessment in Psychology, Vol. 1: Test Theory and Testing and Assessment in Industrial and Organizational Psychology
Testing and Assessment in Psychology, Vol. 2: Testing and Assessment in Clinical and Counseling Psychology
Testing and Assessment in Psychology, Vol. 3: Testing and Assessment in School Psychology and Education
Research Methods in Psychology, Vol 1: Foundations, Planning, Measures, and Psychometrics
Research Methods in Psychology, Vol 2: Research Designs: Quantitative, Qualitative, Neuropsychological, and Biological
Research Methods in Psychology, Vol 3: Data Analysis and Research Publication

Starting Points

PsycINFO via APA
THE primary database for Psychology. Searching on the word 'appended' helps in finding tests.
PsycArticles
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from 1985 to the present.
more...less...
PsycArticles
The database contains more than 45,000 articles from 57 journals - 46 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1985 to present.
Psychology Journals
Nearly 300 academic journals in psychology and related fields all in full text from ProQuest.
PTSDpubs (Formerly PILOTS)
Created by the National Center for PTSD, this database - formerly known as PILOTS - provides citations to all kinds of literature involving PTSD and traumatic stress.
more...less...
This database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. Unlike other databases, PTSDpubs does not restrict its coverage to articles appearing in selected journals. It attempts to include all publications relevant to PTSD and other forms of traumatic stress, whatever their origin without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographic limitations.

PTSDpubs is produced by the National Center for PTSD, and is electronically available to the public. There is no charge for using the database, and no account or password is required. Although it is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, the PTSDpubs database is not limited to literature on PTSD among Veterans.
Taken from the introduction at:
https://www.ptsd.va.gov/ptsdpubs/search_ptsdpubs.asp
Dissertations & Theses
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, now with many provided in full text.
more...less...
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. It includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present, together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for immediate download in PDF format. In addition, over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

More than 70,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations through UMI's Digital Archiving and Access Program. Full text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT - Full Text provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

An Online Index for Finding Tests in Compilation Volumes

A librarian at the University of Texas at Arlington maintained a site that indexes books with actual tests and measures. Her site is located here:

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests Available in Compilation Volumes

Recommendations for how to use her pages to find tests:

Go to the site (click on the link above)
Click on 'UT Arlington (host) web site'.
In the search box enter your search terms and the phrase "compilation volumes." For example, if you're looking for tests that measure stress enter the following in the search box: stress "compilation volumes"
Or enter: stress TMdb
The results will all begin with TMdb for Tests and Measurements database.
Click on an interesting result link; this will take you to a page with the book's full citation at the top with its contents listed beneath a blue bar. Do a "Find" (Ctrl + F) for your topic (e.g., stress); any matches will be highlighted in yellow.
If that test result interests you, look above the blue bar at the top and make a note of the book in which it appears (title, author, publication date, edition, page number, etc.)
Search for the book in the library catalog to see if we have it at the Consortium Library; you can also click on the WorldCat link in each result that follows 'Find this book in a library near you', but it may be quicker just to look in QuickSearch.
If we do not have the book, you can request it through interlibrary loan