It is the policy of the School of Social Work that all aspects of the BSW and MSW Programs, as they affect students, faculty or staff will be conducted without discrimination on the basis of race, color, gender, age, creed, ethnic or national origin, physical or mental disability, political or sexual orientation.
Per the website: The National Association of Social Workers (NASW) is the largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world, with more than 150,000 members.
NASW works to enhance the professional growth and development of its members, to create and maintain professional standards, and to advance sound social policies.
Per the website: The Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) is a nonprofit national association representing over 3,000 individual members as well as 158 graduate and 453 undergraduate programs of professional social work education. Founded in 1952, this partnership of educational and professional institutions, social welfare agencies, and private citizens is recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation as the sole accrediting agency for social work education in this
CSWE works to ensure the preparation of competent social work professionals by providing national leadership and a forum for collective action. The main responsibility of CSWE is therefore
to promote and maintain the high quality of social work education. In addition, CSWE strives to stimulate knowledge and curriculum development, to advance social justice, and to strengthen community and individual well-being.
Per the website:
One of the world`s premiere collections in social work and social services resides in the Whitney M. Young, Jr. Memorial Library of Social Work. The collection provides comprehensive coverage of the various areas of social work including child welfare, gerontology, international social welfare, marriage and divorce, and social policy. The collection`s gems include the Brookdale Memorial collection on Gerontology, and the unique Agency Collection which sports ephemera and reports starting well before 1900. Special materials related to this collection, including New York area settlement house materials and papers related to the Community Services Society of New York, can be viewed in Columbia University`s Rare Book and Manuscript Library.
Information for Practice is a monthly digest aggregating Social Work news and literature. It is led by Dr. Gary Holden of the Silver School of Social Work at NYU, who was responsible for the now defunct World Wide Web Resources for Social Workers site.