Anthropology

The official Web pages for the University of Alaska Anchorage Department of Anthropology.

The Alaska Native Language Center was established by state legislation in 1972 as a center for research and documentation of the twenty Native languages of Alaska. It is internationally known and recognized as the major center in the United States for the study of Eskimo and Northern Athabascan languages. ANLC publishes its research in story collections, dictionaries, grammars, and research papers. The center houses an archival collection of more than 10,000 items, virtually everything written in or about Alaska Native languages, including copies of most of the earliest linguistic documentation, along with significant collections about related languages outside Alaska.

The American Anthropological Association (AAA), the primary professional society of anthropologists in the United States since its founding in 1902, is the world's largest professional organization of individuals interested in anthropology.

Per the website maintainer: I want to make this site a valuable resource for students, teachers, and those outside the academy. Anthropology is the study of everything we are, and it should be possible to interest anyone in it.

Per the website: Academic Info, online since 1998, is an independent Internet subject directory owned Michael Madin and maintained with the assistance of a quality group of subject specialists. We are not sponsored by any academic or commercial organization but rely solely on advertising revenue to remain online. In the spring of 2000 Michael left the University of Washington Gallagher Law Library to focus solely on Academic Info.

Per the website:
Our motto: ``Information You Can Trust.`` The Librarians' Index to the Internet (LII) is a searchable, annotated subject directory of more than 8,600 Internet resources selected and evaluated by librarians for their usefulness to users of public libraries. LII is used by both librarians and the general public as a reliable and efficient guide to Internet resources.

Current stories (with archives) of developments in the field of anthropology. Includes link to major news outlets.

Science.gov is a gateway to selected high quality science information for professionals, students and educators, business people and entrepreneurs, and members of the public with an interest in science. It was developed by an interagency working group of 14 scientific and technical information organizations from 10 major US government science agencies (NASA, EPA, NSF, and Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Interior, and Health & Human Services). Science.gov contains reliable information resources selected by the respective agencies as their best science information. Two major types of information are included: selected authoritative science web sites, and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials. Up to 10 resources can be searched simultaneously, and nearly 30 of the databases are part of the ?invisible web? ? databases not usually accessible from regular web search engines.

Per the website:

This document keeps track of online information as part of The World-Wide Web Virtual Library. Sites are inspected and evaluated for their adequacy as information sources before they are linked from here.

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. To ensure that data resources are available to future generations of scholars, ICPSR preserves data, migrating them to new storage media as changes in technology warrant. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.