All Guides: Gerontology and Aging: Article Searching

ARTICLE SEARCHING

Social Science Databases

Some of these databases focus on aging and gerontology, while others cover many other subjects as well; in those cases, adding search terms such as aged, aging, elders, elderly, and senior citizens will return better results.

PsycInfo (PsycNET)
Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1600s.

Academic Search Premier
The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, it provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.

Health and Medical Databases

As with the Social Science databases above, adding aged, aging, elders, elderly, senior citizens, and similar terms to searches will return better results.

Arctic Health Literature Database
An index of a variety of Arctic health related articles. Provided by the Alaska Medical Library division of the Consortium Library.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Provides indexing for over 2,000 journals and full text articles from over 600 journals for nursing, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Coverage dates back to 1981. Evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and research instrument tools are also part of this database.
Nursing & Allied Health Database
This ProQuest database provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text. Coverage begins in 1986.

PubMed
Provides access to over 18 million citations in 5,246 medical, nursing, dental, and research journals back to the 1950s.

Subject Guide

Ralph Courtney

Email Me

Contact:

recourtney@alaska.edu

907.786.1911

Subjects: Anthropology / Sociology, Arts / Music / Theater & Dance, History, Psychology, Social Work / Human Services