All Guides: NSG 662: Family Nurse Practitioner III: Searching

Using UpToDate

Step-by-Step Directions for UpToDate
Use of UpToDate supports evidence-based practice clinical decision making. Follow these 3 steps to get the most out of UptoDate. Alternate Name: Up To Date

Databases and Point-of-Care Tools

CINAHL
Cumulative index to journal literature in nursing and allied health, plus evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons & research instrument tools.

PubMed
Provides access to citations in medical, nursing, dental, and research journals back to 1840.
Nursing and Allied Health Database
Abstracting and indexing for literature in the nursing and related fields, as well as full-text articles and dissertations.

Cochrane Library
Full-text access discontinued due to FY17 budget cuts. Citation only access. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and other evidence-based databases.

UpToDate
Point-of-Care tool that uses the International GRADE system or Grading of Recommendations Assessment, Development, and Evaluation for clinical recommendations. Alternate Name: Up To Date

QuickSearch
Find books and articles by searching across most of the library's collections.

Requesting Articles

Come across an article that we do not have access to? Request that the article be sent to you electronically through our Document Delivery service. Login w/ your Blackboard username and password at the link below and fill out the form to register for Document Delivery!

Interlibrary Loan
by Lorelei Sterling Last Updated May 14, 2024 1848 views this year

Search Tips

What to Put in a Search Box
by D'Arcy Hutchings Last Updated Oct 19, 2023 287 views this year

Citation Tools
by Mike Robinson Last Updated Sep 30, 2022 1418 views this year