Alaska is home to at least twenty distinct indigenous languages which reflect the diverse cultural heritage of Alaska's Native peoples. Photo from Alaska Native Language Center.
Haa Wsineix̲ Haa Yoo X̲'atángi = Our language saved us : a guidebook for learning the Tlingit language by
A grammar of the Tlingit language of Southeast Alaska, Southwestern Yukon, and Northwestern British Columbia.
Xaat Kíl hl Sk'at'áa! = Alaskan Haida phrasebook by 
Sm'algyax : a reference dictionary and grammar for the Coast Tsimshian language by
In the mid-1970s, Sm'algyax, the language of the Coast Tsimshian people, came under the protection of Canada's Urgent Ethnology Programme, which commissioned a dictionary by linguist John Dunn. With the help of many Tsimshian consultants, Dunn completed the dictionary in 1978 and the first written grammar of the language in 1979. The dictionary quickly became the spelling authority for teachers, and together with the grammar has established a standard writing system for Sm'algyax that is in use throughout Alaska and British Columbia. This 1995 publication, with a new preface and revisions by John Dunn, brings these two classic works back into print in a single volume. part I-- "A Practical Dictionary of the Coast Tsimshian Language"--includes for each word a transcription, morphological information, English glosses, and phonetic transcriptions showing local variants of the entry. Part II-- "A Reverence Grammar for the Coast Tsimshian Language"-- is a nontechnical introduction to phonology, morphology, and syntax. It includes summaries showing the basic sentence types and their grammatical relationships. The new one-volume format of the dictionary and grammar will facilitate their use by teachers, students, and the Tsimshian community for years to come.
Dena'ina Topical Dictionary by
The Dena'ina Topical Dictionary is a critical resource for those studying and sustaining this language. With thirty-three chapters, nearly seven thousand entries, and two hundred maps, illustrations, and diagrams, it is one of the most thorough and refined lexicon references for an Alaska Native language. This revised edition adds more than seventy-five new vocabulary entries and provides updates to existing entries. It also includes a new chapter on grammatical terminology and a reconstruction of the Dena'ina clan system.
Iñupiatun Uqaluit Taniktun Sivuninit (Iñupiaq to English Dictionary) by
This is a comprehensive treatment of one of Alaska's oldest ancestral languages. Through its 19,000 entries and thirty-one appendices-with categories such as kin terms, names of constellations, and a list of explanations-the dictionary is an exceptional blend of linguistic and cultural references.
Qik'rtarmiut Sugpiat Niugneret cali Patriitat = Kodiak Island Sugpiaq words and pictures by 
Aleut dictionary = Unangam tunudgusii : an unabridged lexicon of the Aleutian, Pribilof, and Commander Islands Aleut language by
Abbreviations and sample entries -- History of the dictionary -- General introduction -- 0. Dictionary format -- 1. Historical survey -- 2. Phonology and orthography -- 3. Dialectal differences and developments -- 4. Eskimo-Aleut phonological correspondences -- 5. Aleut treatment of Russian words -- 6. Sources -- References -- Main entries and subentries -- Suffixes -- Problematic words in older sources -- Appendices -- English index -- Addendum.
The Language of the Inuit (ebook) by
The culmination of forty years of research, The Language of the Inuit maps the geographical distribution and linguistic differences between the Eskaleut and Inuit languages and dialects. Providing details about aspects of comparative phonology, grammar, and lexicon as well as Inuit prehistory and historical evolution, Louis-Jacques Dorais shows the effects of bilingualism, literacy, and formal education on Inuit language and considers its present status and future. An enormous task, masterfully accomplished, The Language of the Inuit is not only an anthropological and linguistic study of a language and the broad social and cultural contexts where it is spoken but a history of the language's speakers.
About the Library | Contact Us | FAQ | Giving to the Library | Site Search
UA is committed to providing accessible websites.
UA is an affirmative action/equal opportunity employer, educational institution, and provider and prohibits illegal discrimination against any individual. Learn more about UA's notice of nondiscrimination.
