All Guides: Black History Month: DVDs &amp; Streaming Media

HistoryMakers Digital Archive

Video oral history interviews with historically significant African Americans, including 11 Alaskans.

Selected DVDs

Black history : from civil war through today
6 DVD set featuring a selection of documentaries, interviews, and other archival footage illustrating African American history.
I am not your negro
Based on James Baldwin's work, Remember This House, this documentary follows the lives and assassinations of three of the author's friends, Medgar Evers, Malcolm X, and Martin Luther King Jr.
The Spirit moves : a history of Black social dance on film, 1900-1986
3 DVD set chronicling 100 years of social dance created by Black Americans.

Streaming Video Collections

Academic Video Online: Premium
Multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos. You can make clips, create playlists, and post them to Blackboard.
Docuseek2 Complete Collection: 2nd Edition
Streaming documentary films from leading educational distributors. Sub-collection of Academic Video Online (AVON).
Meet the Press
Long running television program includes interviews, panels, and debates from across the political spectrum. Content includes episodes from the show's premiere in 1947 through 2013. All programs can be watched in streaming format and are fully searchable.

Selected Streaming Videos

The African Americans: Many Rivers to Cross: 6-part documentary series on the African American experience.

Black Feminist is a feature-length documentary film surrounding the racial and gender oppression that black women face in America. This documentary is told through interviews from scholars, lecturers, writers, business owners, veterans, comedians and authors.

Black Studies: over 1700 streaming videos related to the history, culture, and politics of black people from the United States

John Lewis: Good Trouble is an account of U.S. Representative John Lewis’ life, legacy and more than 60 years of extraordinary activism.

U.S. Civil Rights Movement, 1954-: over 100 streaming video documentaries focusing on significant people and events involved in the civil rights movement.