This is the "Home" page of the "Social Work" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Social Work  Tags: social_work  

Last update: Jul 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/social_work  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

QuickSearch Beta

What is this?
Find articles and books by searching several library databases at one time.

Social Work 


  options
 

Library Catalog

Find material in the Consortium Library and other libraries in Anchorage and Southcentral Alaska.

more options
 

New Books @ Library

Titles recently added to the collection in Social Work


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Article Databases

  • Social Services Abstracts  
    Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. Updated monthly.
  • PsycInfo via Ebsco  
    Contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97% of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
  • Social Sciences Abstracts  
    Provides records for English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. Contains a bibliographic citation for each record. Includes articles, interviews, obituaries, biographies, and book reviews
  • Sociological Abstracts  
    CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
  • Academic Search Premier  
    The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, it provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
 

Additional Resources

Alaska & Polar Periodical Index
Indexes journal articles focusing on Alaska and other arctic regions. Covers all subject areas.  more info

Alternative Press Index
Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change.  more info

Arctic Health Literature Database
An index of a variety of Arctic health related articles  more info

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Database of U. S. federal assistance programs.  more info

ETS Test Link
Provides access to more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices from the early 1900's to the present.  more info

ICPSR Direct
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research. Remote access only for UAA Students from the Anchorage Campus.  more info

NASW Clinical Register
Listing of clinical social workers who have met national standards established by the NASW Competence Certification Commission.  more info

PsycArticles
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from 1985 to present.  more info

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.  more info

Psychology Journals
Nearly 300 full-text journals in psychology and related fields, from ProQuest.  more info

Wenger Anthropological Eskimo Database
Emphasis on the Inuit of Alaska, Canada, Chukotka, and Greenland. Available in CD-ROM and on the Web. Best used by Versions 5+ of I.E., 6+ of Netscape, 5+ of Opera, and any Mozilla browser.  more info

 

Websites

UAA School of Social Work
The official home page.  more info

APHSA: American Public Human Services Association
Public Welfare information  more info

Association of Baccalaureate Social Work Program Directors
official web site of the BPD Association.  more info

Buros Institute of Mental Measurements
Access to test and measurement instrument reviews in  more info

Council on Social Work Education Online
Website for the national association that preserves and enhances the quality of social work education.  more info

CSWE Online
The official website for the Council on Social Work Education.  more info

Grassroots Social Science Web Directory
From Andrews University Department of Social Work.  more info

HandsNet
Online collaboration and information sharing for the human services community.  more info

Institute for Research on Poverty
Provides links to information about poverty.  more info

NASW Online
Largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world.  more info

National clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Informatio
A national resource for professionals and others seeking information on child abuse and neglect and child welfare.  more info

SAWN: The Social Work Access Network
Resources and links.  more info

Shirley`s Social Work Web Resources
From the University of Indianapolis.  more info

Social Sciences Virtual Library
Part of The World-Wide Web Virtual Library.  more info

Social Work and Social Services Web Site
A service of the GWB School of Social Work at Washington University in St. Louis.  more info

Social Work Library Columbia University
One of the world`s premiere collections in social work.  more info

UAA Social Work Department
Social Work Department\'s web page.  more info

Welfare Information Network
A Clearinghouse for Information, Policy Analysis & Technical Assistance on Welfare Reform.  more info

World Wide Web Resources for Social Workers
Database of 50,000 links relating to social work.  more info

 

Librarian Profile

Profile ImageRalph Courtney

How Do I...?

Need More Help?

  • Ask a Librarian  
    IM, phone, email or visit the reference desk.
  • Get Connected  
    Technical assistance with accessing databases from off campus.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait