Find books & articles by searching across the library's collections.
Titles recently added to the collection in Human Services
- Social Services Abstracts
Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. Updated monthly.
- Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- PsycInfo via Ebsco
Contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97% of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
- Academic Search Premier
The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, it provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
Focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. The premier source for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. Also includes information for professionals working in aging-related fields and for consumers.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video
Please use the VAST-Psychology and Counseling Streaming Video link just below.
- VAST-Social Sciences Streaming Video (including Counseling and Therapy)
VAST provides streaming video for many subjects. You can make clips, create playlists, and post them to Blackboard. This link will go to the Counseling and Therapy section; to get to all of VAST from that page, click on VAST at the upper left.
- Sage Reference Online
This resource contains the Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity, along with hundreds of other full-text social science reference works from the academic publisher Sage.
- PILOTS (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress)
Created by the National Center for PTSD, this database provides citations to all kinds of literature involving PTSD and traumatic stress.
- Social Sciences Citation Index
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. Find Journal Citation Reports (JCR) under the 'Additional Resources' tab.
- Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO)
A research methods tool to help researchers, faculty, and students design research projects and understand the methods behind them.
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from 1985 to present.
- Dissertations & Theses
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, now with many provided in full text.
- Mental Measurements Yearbooks (Buros MMY)
MMY contains over 7,000 comprehensive full-text reviews of contemporary testing instruments from the Buros Mental Measurement Yearbooks.
- Alaska & Polar Periodical Index
Indexes journal articles focusing on Alaska and other arctic regions. Covers all subject areas.
- Arctic Health Literature Database
An index of a variety of Arctic health related articles
- Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Database of U. S. federal assistance programs.
- ICPSR Direct
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research. Remote access only for UAA Students from the Anchorage Campus.