This is the "Home" page of the "Alaska" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Alaska  Tags: alaska alaskana  

Last update: Jul 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/alaska  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

QuickSearch Beta

What is this?
Find articles and books by searching several library databases at one time.

Alaska 


  options
 

Library Catalog

Find material in the Consortium Library and other libraries in Anchorage and Southcentral Alaska.

more options
 

Article Databases

  • Alaska & Polar Periodical Index  
    Cites articles in English about Alaska, northern Canada, northern Scandinavia, the Russian Far East, and Antarctica. Coverage is strong from the 1980s to the present.
  • Anchorage Daily News (via NewsBank)  
    Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Date range is Oct. 1995-current.
  • Academic Search Premier  
    The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, it provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
 

Additional Resources

Arctic & Antarctic Regions
Available on ARLIS library computers 8am -5pm Mon - Fri  more info

Arctic Health Literature Database
An index of a variety of Arctic health related articles  more info

Fairbanks Daily News-Miner
Access provided via NewsBank from Sept. 2001  more info

Juneau Empire
Access provided via NewsBank from 1998  more info

netLibrary
An excellent collection of electronic books on many topics.  more info

Newspaper Source
Full text for 159 regional U.S. newspapers.  more info

SLED - Full-text articles available to all Alaskans
Magazines, Newspapers & More: Full-Text Articles for Alaskans.  more info

Wenger Anthropological Eskimo Database
Emphasis on the Inuit of Alaska, Canada, Chukotka, and Greenland. Available in CD-ROM and on the Web. Best used by Versions 5+ of I.E., 6+ of Netscape, 5+ of Opera, and any Mozilla browser.  more info

Wilson Select Plus
Provides full text for many topics. Great place to start research.  more info

 

Websites

State of Alaska (Official State Government Site)
From Juneau to you ...  more info

Alaska State and Local Government Information
Links to local government information.  more info

Anchorage-related Websites
Links to sites on the Anchorage municipal area.  more info

Alaskan Cities Other Than Anchorage
Links to many of Alaskan cities.  more info

Alaska Business Resources
Some of the best Alaska business and economic sites.  more info

Alaska Library Catalogs & Resources
Links to many of the online catalogs in Alaska.  more info

Alaskan Schools and Colleges
Links to several key Alaskan universities and school districts.  more info

Alaska Arts, Literature & History
From SLED: Statewide Library Electronic Doorway.  more info

Alaska Community Database Online
Data collected by the Alaska Department of Community and Economic Development.  more info

Alaska Law
Links to alaska law and legal sites.  more info

Alaska Native Language Center
Center for documentation and cultivation of Alaska's 20 Native languages.  more info

Alaska Native Websites
From the Code Talk site ...  more info

Alaska State Court Law Library
Home page for the law library- includes online catalog.  more info

Alaska State Publications Program
State publications freely available to Alaskans  more info

Alaska Statistics Index
A linked list of Alaska statistics by subject.  more info

Alaskool
Online materials about Alaska Native history, education, languages and culture.  more info

Anchorage Indicators
Anchorage Social and Economic Indicators, updated August 2000  more info

ARLIS: Alaska Resources and Library Information Services
The mother lode of Alaska resources information.  more info

Cold Regions Bibliography Project
The Antarctic Bibliography covers all disciplines related to the region.  more info

Institute of Social and Economic Research / UAA (ISER)
The Institute of Social and Economic Research (ISER) at UAA maintains the state's largest economic database and forecasts population and employment growth.  more info

SLED
Statewide Library Electronic Doorway  more info

University of Alaska Libraries
Links to University of Alaska system libraries.  more info

 

 

Librarian Profile

Profile ImageNancy Lesh
Contact Info:
907.786.1877
Send Email

Subjects:
Alaska, Polar Regions

How Do I...?

Need More Help?

  • Ask a Librarian  
    IM, phone, email or visit the reference desk.
  • Get Connected  
    Technical assistance with accessing databases from off campus.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait