“Being the first in your family to pursue higher education can be daunting. Here are some encouraging pieces of advice as you enter college.” From California State University.
Library Resources for First Generation College Students
What the Best College Students Do by Ken BainThe author of the best-selling book What the Best College Teachers Do is back with more humane, doable, and inspiring help, this time for students who want to get the most out of college--and every other educational enterprise, too. The first thing they should do? Think beyond the transcript. The creative, successful people profiled in this book--college graduates who went on to change the world we live in--aimed higher than straight A's. They used their four years to cultivate habits of thought that would enable them to grow and adapt throughout their lives. Combining academic research on learning and motivation with insights drawn from interviews with people who have won Nobel Prizes, Emmys, fame, or the admiration of people in their field, Ken Bain identifies the key attitudes that distinguished the best college students from their peers. These individuals started out with the belief that intelligence and ability are expandable, not fixed. This led them to make connections across disciplines, to develop a "meta-cognitive" understanding of their own ways of thinking, and to find ways to negotiate ill-structured problems rather than simply looking for right answers. Intrinsically motivated by their own sense of purpose, they were not demoralized by failure nor overly impressed with conventional notions of success. These movers and shakers didn't achieve success by making success their goal. For them, it was a byproduct of following their intellectual curiosity, solving useful problems, and taking risks in order to learn and grow.
Call Number: LA229.B24 2012
Publication Date: 2012-08-27
How to Succeed in College and Beyond : The Art of Learning by Daniel R. SchwarzHow to Succeed in College and Beyond is an insightful, inspired guide to the undergraduate experience that helps students balance the joy of learning with the necessity of career preparation. Features a wealth of advice for getting the most from an undergraduate education, especially inthe areas of arts and humanities, written by an experienced educator and mentor Covers the entire undergraduate experience, from high school preparation, applications,financial aid, each undergraduate year from freshman to senior, junior year abroad course selection, and extra-curricular activities, to independent study, honors essays, graduate school, dissertations, and career searches Discusses the benefits of pursuing an arts and humanities degree including how to write effectively, speak articulately, and think critically and discusses how to balance the joy and practicality of education in terms of getting vocationally-focused qualifications. Packed with information that is as helpful to students as it is to their parents, teachers, and advisors, this guide is a indispensible resource for prospective and present undergraduates
Dean's List by John B. BaderWith a solid GPA, numerous extracurricular achievements, and an acceptance letter from an excellent college, it seems that all of your hard work in school has paid off. Now what? What can you expect from college life, and how can you get the most out of it? This book answers these questions to help you excel in college. Deans at America's top institutions tell you what you need to know to have a rich and rewarding college experience. Armed with an insider's perspective, you will develop habits critical for college success, including: * Focusing on learning, not on grades* Building an adult relationship with your parents* Working the system by understanding the system* Learning from diversity at home and abroad* Coping with failure * Planning boldly for life after college Dean's List offers a thoughtful, common-sense approach to higher education that allows every student to achieve. Many books will tell you how to get an "A" in class, but this book encourages you to do more--to explore college life, embrace new challenges, and become independent. Includes expert advice from deans at top U.S. colleges: Barnard College * Brown University * Bryn Mawr College * Columbia University * Cornell University * Dartmouth College * Duke University * Georgetown University * Harvard University * The Johns Hopkins University * Mount Holyoke College * Northwestern University * Oberlin College * Pomona College * Princeton University * Rice University * Smith College * Stanford University * University of Pennsylvania * University of Rochester * Wellesley College * Yale University
Publication Date: 2011-05-09
The American Indian and Alaska Native Student's Guide to College Success by D. Michael Pavel; Ella InglebretChoosing the right college is a big decision for most people. American Indian and Alaska Natives are no exception, but finding a college that offers a good educational program in their major plus a strong support system for tribal traditions makes that decision even more complex. This volume will help Native people clarify their postsecondary aspirations, improve their college choice, and increase their success in college. After a thorough examination of the issues that should be considered, Pavel and Inglebret present the different types of colleges available, programs and services to meet the special needs of Native students, and financial aid options. By answering many of the basic questions students have about going to college, Pavel and Inglebret help to demystify the process and encourage more Native students to pursue a college education. Special features include: -A list of colleges with Native American studies, and those most friendly to Native Americans' needs -A list of sources for financial aid, with contact information -Interviews with Native American students on all aspects of their college experiences -Suggestions for students on how to balance their new college experiences with their community and heritage
Call Number: ALASKA LB2343.32.P38 2007
Publication Date: 2007-05-30
College Success for Students with Learning Disabilities : strategies and tips to make the most of your college experience by Cynthia G. Simpson; Vicky G. SpencerThe complete handbook for college-bound kids with learning disabilities. Planning for college can be one of the biggest moments in a teen's life, but for those students with learning and other disabilities, the college experience can be fraught with frustration, uncertainty, and lowered self-confidence. College Success for Students with Learning Disabilities offers teens the confidence, strategies, and guidance they need to effectively choose a college, get prepared for university life, and make the most of their collegiate experience. Special sections also discuss ADD/ADHD and Asperger's syndrome. The book covers pertinent topics such as understanding the rights and responsibilities of students with special needs, talking to professors and peers, getting involved, asking for and receiving accommodations, and utilizing one's strengths to meet and exceed academic standards. This unique reference book also includes ahandy guide to universities with special programs and advice from current college students with disabilities to empower future students and provide them with hope for success.
Call Number: LC4818.38.S56 2009
Publication Date: 2009-05-01
College Knowledge for the Student Athlete by David Schoem; Shelly KovacsThis book was written to support the academic success of student athletes--whether at a large or small university or college, whether team or individual sport, whether women or men, whether on scholarship or not. While all college students must learn to negotiate the complex transition from high school to college, student athletes face unique challenges, including the complicated set of regulations set out by the NCAA and individual conferences that determine eligibility. The current environment in college athletics makes it even more critical that student athletes understand what they need to do academically and how to avoid potential situations that could jeopardize their athletic careers. College Knowledge for the Student Athlete is a road map and tour guide for a successful career as a student athlete. Tips are based on research and the authors' experience, as well as the wisdom and advice of hundreds of former student athletes.
Publication Date: 2011-11-03
What's Next for Student Veterans? : Moving From Transition to Academic Success by David DiRamio (Editor)With the passage of the Post-9/11 GI Bill in 2008, more than 1.4 million service members and their families became eligible for higher education benefits, and veterans from the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan enrolled in colleges and universities in record numbers. The first wave of research about these new student veterans focused primarily on describing their characteristics and the transition from military service to civilian life and the college campus. This new edited collection presents findings from the second wave of research about student veterans, with a focus on data-driven evidence of academic success factors, including persistence, retention, degree completion, and employment after college. An invaluable resource for educators poised to enter the next phase of supporting military-connected college students.
Publication Date: 2017-12-21
The Adult Student's Guide to Survival and Success by Al Siebert; Mary KarrWhether enrolling in college for the first time or returning after an extended absence, this motivational guide provides adult students with a wealth of practical guidance. This thorough handbook explores not only how to succeed academically while balancing family, work, and other important responsibilities, but also addresses how students can learn to confront their fears, increase their self-confidence and resiliency, and create support groups. Containing essential information on financing education through loans, grants, and scholarships as well as practical tips for managing time, preparing for tests, taking effective notes, and using internet resources, this one-stop reference also includes action review checklists.
Publication Date: 2008-07-01
Trans* in College : Transgender Students' Strategies for Navigating Campus Life and the Institutional Politics of Inclusion by Kristen A. Renn (Foreword by); Z. Nicolazzo; Stephen John Quaye (Afterword by)WINNER of 2017 AERA DIVISION J OUTSTANDING PUBLICATION AWARD CHOICE 2017 Outstanding Academic Title This is both a personal book that offers an account of the author's own trans* identity and a deeply engaged study of trans* collegians that reveals the complexities of trans* identities, and how these students navigate the trans* oppression present throughout society and their institutions, create community and resilience, and establish meaning and control in a world that assumes binary genders. This book is addressed as much to trans* students themselves - offering them a frame to understand the genders that mark them as different and to address the feelings brought on by the weight of that difference - as it is to faculty, student affairs professionals, and college administrators, opening up the implications for the classroom and the wider campus. This book not only remedies the paucity of literature on trans* college students, but does so from a perspective of resiliency and agency. Rather than situating trans* students as problems requiring accommodation, this book problematizes the college environment and frames trans* students as resilient individuals capable of participating in supportive communities and kinship networks, and of developing strategies to promote their own success. Z Nicolazzo provides the reader with a nuanced and illuminating review of the literature on gender and sexuality that sheds light on the multiplicity of potential expressions and outward representations of trans* identity as a prelude to the ethnography ze conducted with nine trans* collegians that richly documents their interactions with, and responses to, environments ranging from the unwittingly offensive to explicitly antagonistic. The book concludes by giving space to the study's participants to themselves share what they want college faculty, staff, and students to know about their lived experiences. Two appendices respectively provide a glossary of vocabulary and terms to address commonly asked questions, and a description of the study design, offered as guide for others considering working alongside marginalized population in a manner that foregrounds ethics, care, and reciprocity.
Publication Date: 2016-11-29
To access from off campus, login with your university username and password.
This article from the MLA’s Committee on the Literatures of People of Color in the United States and Canada (CLPC) draws on extensive research to offer targeted advice on mentoring first generation PhD students and graduate students of color.