This is the "Home" page of the "Reference Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Reference Resources  Tags: reference  

Last update: Apr 28th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/reference  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Home            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

QuickSearch Beta

What is this?
Find articles and books by searching several library databases at one time.

Reference Resources 


  options
 

Library Catalog

Find material in the Consortium Library and other libraries in Anchorage and Southcentral Alaska.

more options
 

Websites

Abbreviations.com
The world's largest and most comprehensive directory and search engine for acronyms, abbreviations and initialisms on the Internet.  more info

Biographical Dictionary
A service of S9 Technologies.  more info

Census Data
Links to some major population data sites.  more info

Citation Style Guides
Gives information and examples for writing papers and citing research.  more info

Dictionaries
English language dictionaries as well as specialized dictionaries.  more info

Directories for Phone Numbers, Zip Codes, and Area Codes
Some of the best directory services.  more info

Directory of America's Hospitals
American Hospital Association data searchable by the hospital's location (by region, state, or distance from any ZIP code), type, specialization, and services offered.  more info

Directory of Scholarly and Professional E-Conferences
A collection of academic discussion lists and resources of interests to the academic community.  more info

IPL Reference Center
From the Internet Public Library.  more info

Portals to the World
Information about the nations and other areas of the world.  more info

Quotations
Links to some of the best Web quotation sites.  more info

Reference Topics
From the Librarians' Index to the Internet.  more info

University of Alaska Libraries
Links to University of Alaska system libraries.  more info

 

Article Databases

  • Facts on File Issues & Controversies
    Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.
  • Facts on File World News Digest
    Includes news back to 1940 including editorial cartoons, obituaries listings back to 1980, and more, as well as an almanac and encyclopedia, special features, issues & controversies, and today’s science.
  • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
    The Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. This database is updated annually.
  • Oxford English Dictionary
    A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
  • Oxford Reference Collection
    Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource.
  • World Almanac
    Offers a fundamental reference source for students, library patrons, library reference staff, and scholars alike. Includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, statistics. Dates covered 1998 to present. Updated annually.
 

Additional Resources

Auto Repair Reference Center
Repair information back to 1954.  more info

Books in Print
In-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, with optional reviews  more info

CAMIO
Catalog of art museum images online.  more info

Choice Reviews Online
ChoiceReviews.online provides Web access to the entire database of CHOICE reviews published since September 1988.  more info

ClasePeriodica
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities  more info

Disclosure Corporate Snapshots
Directory information on companies publicly traded on U.S. exchanges.  more info

Facts on File Today's Science
Bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today  more info

Google Scholar
Find citations with links to online & print holdings at UAA/APU Consortium Library  more info

Heritage Quest Online
Census records, family histories, and other genealogy resources.  more info

Keesing's World News Archives
Access from 1987 to present to news digest articles from around the world.  more info

LexisNexis Academic
Provides full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, legal, and reference publications.  more info

Library Literature
Materials on libraries and information science.  more info

LISTA
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts  more info

Mental Measurements Yearbook Index
Searches the indexes of all volumes of Buros Mental Measurements Yearbooks.  more info

Mergent Online
In-depth business and financial information.  more info

NewsBank: America's Newspapers
Contains hundreds of full-text local and regional U.S. newspapers.  more info

OCLC Union Lists of Periodicals via WorldCat
Now available inside WorldCat!  more info

Oxford Reference Collection - Natural History
Search reference books by subject area.  more info

Oxford Reference Collection - Prehistory
Search reference books by subject area.  more info

SLED - Full-text articles available to all Alaskans
Magazines, Newspapers & More: Full-Text Articles for Alaskans.  more info

Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Contains the full set of small engine repair manuals from Clymer  more info

Southeast Asia: A Historical Encyclopedia
The authoritative reference work on Southeast Asian history.  more info

Summit Training Videos
Over 150 online videos for safety and compliance training  more info

Testing and Education Reference Center
Test preparation materials and practice exams. Find college, graduate, and career/vocational programs.  more info

TOPICsearch
Current events database.  more info

Suggest a website

 

Need Help?

 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait