This is the "Home" page of the "Geography Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Geography Resources  Tags: geography  

Geography encompasses the study of the Earth's natural features, climate, resources and human populations. At UAA, there is a strong emphasis on human interactions with their physical environments.
Last update: Aug 24th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/geography  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

QuickSearch Beta

What is this?
Find articles and books by searching several library databases at one time.

Geography 


  options
 

Library Catalog

Find material in the Consortium Library and other libraries in Anchorage and Southcentral Alaska.

more options
 

Reference Books

 

Article Databases

  • GeoBASE  
    Covers journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports. Includes over 600,000 records with abstracts and some articles full text. Dates covered 1980 to present
  • GeoRef  
    Provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. Includes abstracts and some full text. Contains references to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Dates covered: 1785 to present for N. America, 1933 for international to present.
  • Academic Search Premier  
    The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, it provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for more than one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Daily updates.
 

Additional Resources

Alternative Press Index
Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change.  more info

Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
Provides information in the scientific and technological fields.  more info

Environment Complete
Available on ARLIS library computers 8am - 5pm Mon -Fri  more info

FindArticles.com
Contains articles dating back to 1998 from more than 300 magazines and journals  more info

Fuente Academica
Collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American, South American and Spanish publishers.  more info

General Science Abstracts
General science literature from the U.S. and Europe.  more info

LexisNexis Academic
Provides full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, legal, and reference publications.  more info

Military & Government Collection.
Provides full text for over 330 military related periodicals and general interest magazines.  more info

NTIS
The DARTS System is a product of the collaborative efforts of the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) and the Government Printing Office.  more info

Oxford Reference Collection - Names & Places
Search reference books by subject area.  more info

Social Sciences Abstracts
Abstracts of articles on the social sciences.  more info

 

Websites

American Congress on Surveying and Mapping
The official website of the ACSM.  more info

ARLIS: Alaska Resources and Library Information Services
The mother lode of Alaska resources information.  more info

Atlas Collections
Links to online atlases.  more info

Country Studies / Area Handbooks
From the Library of Congress.  more info

Environmental History on the Internet
Overview of Environmental History links on the web  more info

Geography
From the Librarians' Index to the Internet.  more info

globalEDGE Resource Desk
A collection of resources for international trade and business.  more info

International Affairs Resources
From the WWW Virtual Library.  more info

Map Collections
Links to Web map collections.  more info

National Geographic Xpeditions
Attractive and interactive website for map resources  more info

Political Geography
Nicely integrated site from Florida State University providing numerous pertinent links  more info

Portals to the World
Information about the nations and other areas of the world.  more info

Science.gov
Gateway to the best science information from government sources.  more info

U.S. Geological Survey
USGS homepage providing information about the Earth.  more info

World Factbook
From the CIA.  more info

 

How Can I help You ?

Profile ImageKevin Keating
Contact Info:
LIB 301B / (907) 786-1909
Send Email

Subjects:
History, Geography, Political Science

How Do I...?

Need More Help?

  • Ask a Librarian  
    IM, phone, email or visit the reference desk.
  • Get Connected  
    Technical assistance with accessing databases from off campus.
 

RefWorks / Manage Your Research

RefWorks  

RefWorks -- an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Set up an account using your UAA/APU user ID and Password, and start organizing and sharing your research.

 

New Books @ Library

Titles recently added to the collection in Geography


Loading RSS Feed...
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait