Last Updated: Mar 5, 2014
- Nutrition Care Manual
Manual from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics that provides overviews and nutrition care for more than 100 diseases/conditions, disease-specific client education handouts, and thousands of references with links to abstracts and full-text articles.
- Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual
Web-based pediatric diet manual from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.
- Sports Nutrition Care Manual
Research-based nutrition information written by authors who are Board Certified as Specialists in Sports Dietetics (CSSDs) from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.
- Anatomy and Physiology Online
3D images, interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, and more.
- Academic Search Premier
Developed for undergraduate students, this is a general database covering many topics.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
The authoritative resource for nursing and allied health.
Free access to MEDLINE, with over 23 million citations from 5,652 medical, nursing, dental, and research journals dating back to the 1840s.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From here you can link to fulltext and print holdings available from the UAA/APU Consortium Library.
- Anatomy TV
Over 5,000 3D images of human anatomy that can be rotated and layered. Organized
by body system or region.
Evidence-based point-of-care resource, updated daily.
Covers food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology, earth and environmental sciences, and more.
- American Diabetes Association
Mission is to lead the fight against the deadly consequences of diabetes and fight for those affected by diabetes.
- American Public Health Association (APHA)
Aims to protect all Americans, their families, and their communities from preventable, serious health threats.
- AND: Food and Nutrition Information
Press releases from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.
- Center for Science in the Public Interest
Mission is to conduct innovative research and advocacy programs in health and nutrition, and to provide consumers with current, useful information about their health and wellbeing.
- Center for Weight and Health at UC Berkeley
Links to programming materials that can be used by both individuals and practitioners.
- Children's Nutrition Research Center
Cooperative venture between Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's Hospital, and the U.S. Department of Agriculture/Agricultural Research Service.
Personalized eating plans and interactive tools to help the public plan/assess their food choices based on the current Dietary Guidelines for Americans.
- Dietary Guidelines for Americans
Guidelines by the Departments of Health and Human Services and Agriculture.
- Eat Right
Consumer health information from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.
- Farm to School Program
Program managed by State of Alaska Division of Agriculture designed to offer expertise and support to all areas of the state to pursue farm-to-school activities and interests. The prevailing program goal is having product produced and/or harvested in Alaska available in the school food environment.
- Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that oversees medical products, tobacco, and foods.
- Food & Nutrition Research Information
Resource list from the Alaska Native Science Commission (ANSC).
- Food Insight
Science-based information on health, nutrition, and food safety from the International Food Information Council (IFIC) Foundation.
- International Obesity Taskforce
Mission is to catalyze evidence-informed policy actions for the effective prevention of obesity at national, regional, and global levels.
- John C. Stalker Institute of Food and Nutrition
Resources to support schools in their efforts to integrate nutrition education, wellness policy goals, and services into comprehensive health education, food service, school health, and physical education programs.
- MedlinePlus: Nutrition
Consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine.
- National Agricultural Library (NAL)
USDA agency that provides technical information on agricultural research and related subjects to scientists, educators, and farmers.
- National Guideline Clearinghouse: Dietetics and Nutrition
Public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
- National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
Survey designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States.
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements
Mission is to strengthen knowledge and understanding of dietary supplements.
Government information on food and human nutrition for consumers.
Bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness, and related disciplines, including nutrition for athletes.
- The Surgeon General's Call to Action to Prevent and Decrease Overweight and Obesity
Report that calls upon individuals, families, communities, schools, worksites, organizations, and the media to work together to build solutions that will bring better health to everyone in this country.