Skip to main content

Incorporating Library Content in Courseware & Websites

The lLibrary subscribes to a vast array of online resources that are accessible to students, faculty and staff on campus and off campus. Students and instructors can embed content from these resources in Blackboard and other web pages.

In This Guide

Links to Articles, Ebooks & Other Content

Linking to content in library databases other than QuickSearch can be complicated. When creating links, two principles should be observed:

  • Link to a persistent URL, not a session URL.

Most databases create a session URL when you access them. If you bookmark or copy this session URL from the browser address bar,  it will be invalid when you view it later because the session information will expire. Many of the databases provide a "Link to this Article" or "Persistent URL"  feature when viewing a specific item. Use this URL to create a persistent link to a specific item.

  • Include the proxy information for off-campus access.

To insure off campus access, proxy information is encoded in the URL as a prefix. For example, in this link to an article in Academic Search Premier, the bold characters are the proxy prefix and the non-bold characters are the login URL.

http://proxy.consortiumlibrary.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=101358316&site=ehost-live

If you omit the proxy prefix, the link will  work correctly on campus, but off-campus users will be denied access.

Links to Databases

You can link to specific library databases. By using the link from the library website, you are insuring that the URL contains the correct login and proxy information for off campus access.

  • Find the database on the library's Databases page.
  • Right click on the link location and select copy link or shortcut.
  • Copy & paste the URL and use it to create a valid link in courseware like Blackboard or other websites.

Links to Journal Titles

You can link to a specific journal in the library's online subscriptions. By using the link from the library website, you are insuring that the URL contains the correct login and proxy information for off campus access.

  • Find the journal on the library's Journal Titles page.
  • Note that many journals are available from multiple providers, often with different coverage.
  • Right click on the provider link with appropriate coverage and select copy link location or shortcut.
  • Copy & paste the URL and use it to create a valid link in courseware like Blackboard or other websites.

Need Help?

Ask A LibrarianAsk Us
Chat, email, call or visit.