African American history in Alaska
Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood
Alaska state legislators and legislation
Anchorage Winter Olympics bids
Arctic National Wildlife Refuge
Businesses, clubs, and organizations
Fishing, fisheries, and canneries
Fur trading, trapping, and farming
Geography and environmental studies
Non-English language collections
Senior Citizen issues and advocacy
Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage
View of buildings, docks, and boats on shore in front of a Northwestern Fisheries Cannery in Alaska. Bruno Kroon papers, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.
View of men processing crabs on seafood processing ship "Alindeska Sea" at Cold Bay, Alaska. Billy Blackjack Johnson papers, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.
View of a set net and people in a boat in the Naknek River. McGlashan and Monsen family photographs, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.
View of a man fishing off the side of a boat, while two other men look on. Francis J. Huber slides, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.
Below are examples of collections in the Consortium Library's Archives and Special Collections, with information related to fishing, fisheries, and canneries in Alaska. Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.
Forcollections held by other archives, libraries, and museums in Alaska related to fishing, please visit the guide to fishing, fisheries, and canneries primary sources on Alaska's Statewide Library Electronic Doorway (SLED).
Alaska Center for the Environment records; 1909-1992. HMC-0005. Records of a non-profit environmental organization based in Anchorage. The collection contains a fisheries subject file.
Alaska Historical Society records; 1967-2012. HMC-0014. Records of historical society that promote research and sharing of the history of Alaska. Contain presentation and fishing photographs.
Alaska Public Interest Research Group (AKPIRG) records; 1962-2008. HMC-0027. Contains research files related to canneries in Kodiak and cannery workers in general.
American Can Company. “Alaska’s Silver Millions.” Motion Picture Film; 1936. EPH-0288. Film about Alaska and the salmon fishing industry. Narrated by Father Bernard Hubbard.
Anchorage Waterways Council records; 1979-1991. HMC-0393. Records of a nonprofit organization dedicated to protecting and restoring Anchorage’s waterways and wetlands. Contains information related to fisheries in Anchorage.
Kenneth D. Andress reminiscences; 1937-1943. HMC-0058. The collection includes audio recordings of Andress speaking about his time as a commercial fisherman in Southeast Alaska.
Winton C. Arnold papers; 1949-1983. HMC-0376. Papers of a leading spokesperson for the Alaska Salmon Industry.
Robert M. August Rampart Canyon Dam Project Papers; 1963-1973. HMC-0804. Papers and reports related to an evaluation of the Rampart Canyon Dam Project. Contains draft report of “Fisheries on the Yukon” by Justin W. Leonard.
Bill Bacon photograph files; 1940-1990. HMC-0991. Photographs, color slides, and subject files of Alaskan photographer and filmmaker. Contains photographic materials and subject files related to fishing in Alaska.
Neil R. Bassett papers; 1940-1991. HMC-0377. Bureau of Land Management official involved with Alaska land issues. Fisheries related pubs and files.
Bristol Bay Native Association records; 1968-2004. HMC-0075. Contains correspondence and subject files related to fishing and fisheries in Bristol Bay.
Dorothy and Grenold Collins papers; 1900-2002. HMC-0422. Alaskan bush pilot, sportsman, and his wife. The collection contains publications related to sports fishing and fisheries.
Community Enterprise Development Corporation of Alaska records; 1968-1980. HMC-0091. In its first year of operation, 1969, it became an independent, nonprofit organization. CEDC provided assistance to many community-owned businesses and industries in rural Alaska like fishing. Includes files related to Alaska Fisheries Development Federation and Karluk Fish Co-Operative.
Bob and Gayle Curtis photograph albums; 1965-1983. HMC-1296. Photograph albums from a fishing lodge near Bristol Bay, including photographs of fishing trips.
Emard Cannery Employee photograph album; 1945. HMC-0916. The young woman who created this album (her first name was Ann) worked at Emard Cannery in Anchorage in 1945.
English sport fishing party photographs; 1912. HMC-0698. Photographs of a sport fishing party in Southeast Alaska.
Tom Faraday scrapbook; 1939-1940. HMC-0611. Photographs, clippings, and memorabilia of junior ambassador to Alaska. Includes photographs of canneries at Bella Bella and Butedale.
Donald T. Griffith family films; 1948-1969. HMC-1058. Home movies and documentary created by Bureau of Land Management land planner. The collection contains film footage of fishing and canning fish.
Walter Eugene Guess papers; 1960-1975. HMC-0366. Guess was an Alaskan legislator. Included in his papers are records related to fisheries legislation.
Francis J. Huber slides; 1964-2000, bulk 1978-2000. HMC-1280. Contains slides depicting commercial fishing operations and recreational fishing trips.
Indivisible: Stories of American Community Alaskan fishing communities records; 1999-2001. hmc-0507. The collection contains interviews with members of the Alaska fishing community. A majority of the interviewees are commercial fishermen from various areas in Alaska.
Billy Blackjack Johnson papers. 1929-1997, bulk 1972-1997. HMC-0384. Includes photographs of Alindeska Sea seafood processing ship and supply boats.
Otte Conrad Johnson photographs; 1915, 1930. HMC-0791. Alaska Packers Association employee who worked at the fishing station at Kvichak.
Guide to the Robert C. Kallenberg papers; 1919-1972. HMC-1235. Papers of a commercial fisherman and educator.
Guide to the Bruno Kroon papers; circa 1919. HMC-1307. Photographs of a man who worked in canneries in False Pass and Mozhovoi Bay.
Washington D. Lacabanne letters; 1931. HMC-0670. Nushagak cannery employee.
Loman and Hanford photographs; 1910-1920. EPH-0144. Photograph album produced by an Alaskan photography firm. Contains photographs of various canneries and one photograph of women at a swimming contest at Hoonah Cannery.
Alan G. May papers; 1902-1990. HMC-0690. Papers, photographs, and journals of an amateur archeologist who participated in expeditions to the Aleutian Islands from 1936-1940. Contains photographs of canneries in Kodiak.
McGlashan and Monsen family photographs; circa 1880-1974. HMC-1278. Includes photographs of Red Salmon Cannery, Graveyard Cannery, Naknek Packing, Pacific American Fisheries, and Nakeen Cannery.
Thomas A. Morehouse papers; 1967-1994. HMC-0410. Papers of University of Alaska Anchorage Professor Emeritus in political science and former deputy director of Alaska’s Division of Policy Development and Planning. Contains research data and interviews related to fisheries in Alaska and Canada. Topics include fisheries management and limited entry fisheries research files and interviews with fishermen.
Fred Odlin letters; 1934-1937. HMC-0644. Crew member of the Alaska Steamship Company's S.S. Curacao which delivered cannery workers to Alaska.
Thomas Sexton photographs collection; circa 1900-1929. HMC-0219. The collection contains photos of Alaska Natives fishing and processing fish.
Helen Stevens papers; 1897-1951. HMC-0761. Papers, publications and photographs of woman who worked as a reporter for the Alaska Railroad. The collection contains photographs of the Metlakatla cannery and purse-seiner fishing boats.
John Strohmeyer papers; 1946-2007. HMC-1073. Papers of John Strohmeyer documenting his work as a journalist and author. Contains drafts and research related to Strohmeyer’s manuscript, Empty Nests: Fish, Avarice, and Politics, that investigated the state of fisheries in waters around the United States.
Arliss Sturgulewski papers; 1954-1997. HMC-0467. The papers of an Alaskan senator, gubernatorial candidate, and individual involved in many civic activities. The collection contains records related to fisheries legislation.
Elaine and Hobert Sullivan slides; circa 1941-1975. HMC-0858. Photographic slides primarily documenting Southeast and Southcentral Alaska. Contains slides of commercial fishing for cod, a fish hatchery building, and of the New England Cannery.
Thirteenth Regional Corporation records; 1971-1992. HMC-0390. Regional corporation for Alaska Natives living outside of Alaska. Includes records related to Transalaska Fisheries Corp. and Fishing Ventures.
Unidentified Kenai peninsula tourist photograph album; 1948. HMC-0908. Photographs of fishing in Alaska.
About the Library | Contact Us | FAQ | Giving to the Library | Site Search
UA is committed to providing accessible websites.
UA is an affirmative action/equal opportunity employer, educational institution, and provider and prohibits illegal discrimination against any individual. Learn more about UA's notice of nondiscrimination.
