Skip to Main Content

Della Keats Health Sciences Summer Program (WWAMI)

This course guide provides information and resources to support Della Keats assignments.

Day 1: July 19th, Thursday 9a-11a

Background Information

Developing a Research Question

Types of Sources

Use flash cards to identify the formats. 

Scholarly Journals

Magazines

Newspapers

Databases

QuickSearch

Books

Library Catalog

Encyclopedias

Websites & Search Engines

and a few more ...

For more information try these two links:

Types of Sources

Scholarly or Popular?

Timeline Quiz

Read Two Articles

Two articles will be distributed. Read them in preparation for next class when you will evaluate them.

Matching Format Quiz

Day 2: July 23rd, Monday, 3:10p-5p

Citations

A. Review: Read two articles provided by the librarians.

B. Evaluate: Complete the CRAAP test for each article.

C. Cite:

  1. How to Read a Citation -  2 min video
  2. Parts of a Book
  3. Reading a call number - 2 min video
  4. Finding a book on the shelf
  5. Citation activity - articles and books

Article Databases

A. Watch video on article databases [2:28 min].

B. Watch this interactive video on using AND, OR and NOT  [2 min].

C. Handout: Complete the Venn diagram activity.

Day 3: July 26th, Thursday, 1p-3p

QuickSearch

A.. Complete the QuickSearch interactive tutorial - enter your name and submit

B. Using QuickSearch, find a book on your research topic. 

C. Go to the shelves and find the book. Make sure the title is approved by one of the librarians.

D. Either check out the book using your WolfCard or scan the relevant chapter.

E. Working in your topic groups, search for articles on your research topic: diabetes type 1, kidney disease, or lung cancer.  Find at least two relevant scholarly articles and evaluate them using the CRAAP evaluation sheet. Fill out ½ page sheet for each article.  The group must agree with the articles chosen.  Then show the articles to one of the librarians for their approval before printing each article.

Academic Search Premier

A.. Complete the ASP interactive tutorial - enter your name and submit..

B. Librarians will demonstrate using Academic Search Premier.

C. Phrase Searching. Some databases automatically search for phrases or adjacent words. Some databases do not have this capability. In some databases, adjacent words will only be treated as phrases when they are enclosed by quotes (" ").

For example, searching for "hearing aids" in a database that uses phrase searching would find

Hearing aids: myths revisited.

     A database without phrase searching would find

AIDS, HIV still a big problem as described by public health professionals at a City Council hearing.

D. Working in your topic groups, search for articles on your research topic: diabetes type 1, kidney disease, or lung cancer.  Find at least two relevant scholarly articles and evaluate them using the CRAAP evaluation sheet. Fill out ½ page sheet for each article.  The group must agree with the articles chosen.  Then show the articles to one of the librarians for their approval before printing each article.

Web vs. Library Databases (handout)

  • Invisible Web
  • SLED

Day 4: July 30th, Monday, 1p-2p

Website Searching and Evaluation

A. Parts of a URL

B. Website evaluation form.  Librarian-led demonstration using the website evaluation form.

Using the website evaluation, analyze the All About Explorers website.  Then complete the website evaluation form for one more from this list.  

Dihydrogen Monoxide

GenoChoice

Time Travel Fund

Endangered Tree Octopus

Dog Island

Furnetics

Havidol

Now search for a third website on your research topic (diabetes type 1, kidney disease, or lung cancer). Complete the website evaluation form.

C. Spotting Fake News

Images

Use the Images and Videos guide to search for an image on your research topic.