This is the "Home" page of the "Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Sociology  Tags: sociology  

Last update: Oct 19th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/sociology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

QuickSearch Beta

What is this?
Find articles and books by searching several library databases at one time.

Sociology 


  options
 

Library Catalog

Find material in the Consortium Library and other libraries in Anchorage and Southcentral Alaska.

more options
 

New Books @ Library

Titles recently added to the collection in Sociology


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Article Databases

  • Sociological Abstracts  
    CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
  • Academic Search Premier  
    The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, it provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
  • Social Sciences Abstracts  
    Provides records for English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. Contains a bibliographic citation for each record. Includes articles, interviews, obituaries, biographies, and book reviews
 

Additional Resources

Alternative Press Index
Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change.  more info

Essay and General Literature Index
Find contents in collected works focusing on humanities and social sciences.  more info

ICPSR Direct
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research. Remote access only for UAA Students from the Anchorage Campus.  more info

Military & Government Collection.
Provides full text for over 330 military related periodicals and general interest magazines.  more info

NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research) Working Papers
Full-text research papers written by NBER economists on a broad range of topics. November 1994 to present.  more info

NTIS
The DARTS System is a product of the collaborative efforts of the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) and the Government Printing Office.  more info

Oxford Reference Collection - Politics & Social Sciences
Search reference books by subject area.  more info

PsycArticles
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from 1985 to present.  more info

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.  more info

PsycInfo via Ebsco
Psychology and related fields since 1887.  more info

SIRS Researcher
Social, scientific, economic, and political issues worldwide.  more info

Social Sciences Citation Index
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences.  more info

Social Services Abstracts
CSA database for social work, human services, and related areas. (Formerly Social Work Abstracts)  more info

Wilson Select Plus
Provides full text for many topics. Great place to start research.  more info

 

Websites

ASA Format
Intended for students who are instructed to use ``ASA style``.  more info

Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research
Social science data and resources for researchers  more info

Social Sciences Virtual Library
Part of The World-Wide Web Virtual Library.  more info

Social Statistics Briefing Room
Provides easy access to current U. S. Federal economic indicators.  more info

Sociological Tour Through Cyberspace
An excellent page provided by Michael C. Kearl professor of sociology at Trinity College.  more info

Sociology Graduate Studies Information
From About.com, information for students considering graduate studies.  more info

SocioSite
Information and resources relevant to sociologists and other social scientists.  more info

WWW Virtual Library: Sociology
An extensive collection of links.  more info

 

Librarian Profile

Profile ImageRalph Courtney

How Do I...?

Need More Help?

  • Ask a Librarian  
    IM, phone, email or visit the reference desk.
  • Get Connected  
    Technical assistance with accessing databases from off campus.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait