Alternate Page for Screenreader Users

All Guides - Staff Archives and Special Collections

Archives & Special Collections

Profile Image
Archives and Special Collections
Contact Info:
907-786-1849
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508

Guides

1964 Alaska earthquake collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Sep 17, 2015
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to 1964 Alaska earthquake. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Tags: alaska, earthquakes, engineering, geology
1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Apr 15, 2015
This guide includes collections with materials related to the 1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill.
Tags: alaska, environment
Advocacy collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Sep 16, 2014
Collections relating to local and statewide advocacy. Advocacy takes many different forms. The following list is only a partial listing of materials in the Archives that relate to a few specific advocacy topics.
Alaska Highway and Canol Pipeline construction collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Sep 18, 2015
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to the construction of the Alaska Highway and Canol Pipeline. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Tags: alaska highway
Alaska State Legislators and legislation
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Dec 9, 2015
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to Alaska legislators and legislation. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Tags: economics, government, government_documents, health_services, justice, law, legal, natural_resources, political_science, public_administration
Anchorage history collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Apr 16, 2015
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections relating to the history of Anchorage, listed below by topic and in alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Tags: alaskana
Anchorage winter Olympics
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Apr 15, 2015
A guide to collections with materials relating to attempts to bring the winter Olympics to Anchorage.
ANCSA, ANILCA, and d-2 collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated May 28, 2015
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections relating to the ANCSA, ANILCA, and the D-2 clause of ANCSA, listed below in alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Tags: alaska, alaska_natives, geography, land_use, legal, natural_resources
Anthropology collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Nov 11, 2014
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to Anthropology, listed below in alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Tags: alaska_natives, anthropology, archaeology
Archives in Alaska
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Nov 7, 2015
List of archives in Alaska.
Tags: alaska, alaskana, archives, primary_sources, research
Cold War era (1945-1992) collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Apr 30, 2015
This research guide covers collections that relate to a variety of topics related to the Cold War era (1945-1992) in Alaska, including Alaska Native issues, Alaska politics and statehood, civil rights, U.S. relations with Russia, and women’s issues.
Collections with international content
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Apr 30, 2015
A guide to selected collections with materials from outside the United States.
Communications systems
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Oct 22, 2015
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections related to the development of communications systems in Alaska. They are listed below in alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Creative Writing collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Jun 1, 2015
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections relating to creative writing. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Education archives collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Jun 2, 2015
A list of collections that contain materials related to education such as papers from schools, teachers, university faculty, politicians, and organizations.
Engineering collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Sep 4, 2015
Archives & Special Collections at the UAA/APU Consortium Library contains many collections of archival material relating to the history of engineering in Alaska and elsewhere. Follow the links below for full descriptions of these collections.
Tags: engineering
Fine Arts collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Jun 3, 2015
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to Fine Arts. They are listed below in alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Tags: african_american_artists, art, artists, painters, women_artists
Fur Rendezvous related collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Jan 22, 2016
Collections relating to the Anchorage Fur Rendezvous festival. The following list is only a partial listing of materials in the Archives that include Fur Rendezvous related records.
Fur trading, trapping, and farming
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Apr 20, 2015
A guide featuring collections with materials related to fur trading, trapping, and farming in Alaska.
Geography and Environmental Studies collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Aug 10, 2015
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to Geography and Environmental Studies. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Tags: conservation, environment, geography, natural_resources
Geology related collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Jan 22, 2016
Collections relating to geology and geologists in Alaska. The following list is only a partial listing of materials in the Archives.
Gold rush collections.
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Aug 10, 2015
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to the history of gold rushes in Alaska and the Klondike. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents
Greenspace collectons
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Aug 10, 2015
This topic guide contains collections related to greenspace in Alaska.
Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race related collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Jan 27, 2016
Collections relating to the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race. The following list is only a partial listing of materials in the Archives that include Iditarod race related records.
Journalism and Broadcasting
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Mar 26, 2014
Archives' collections that relate to journalism and broadcasting.
Tags: broadcasting, journalism, media, news, radio, reporter, television
Labor collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Sep 4, 2015
Archives & Special Collections at the UAA/APU Consortium Library contains many collections of archival material relating to the history of labor in Alaska. Follow the links below for full descriptions of these collections.
Tags: archives, labor relations
LGBT related collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Dec 16, 2015
A guide featuring collections with materials relating to the LGBT community in Alaska. This guide is not comprehensive. Please contact Archives for further information.
Matanuska Colony
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Jan 11, 2016
Collections with archival materials that relate to the Matanuska Colony, a New Deal project in which families from Wisconsin, Minnesota, and Chicago settled in Matanuska and Palmer.
Medicine and Health related collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Mar 24, 2015
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to medicine and health topics. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Tags: health, health_services, medicine, nurses, nursing, public_health
Miners and mining collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Feb 8, 2016
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to miners and mining in Alaska, listed below in alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Tags: geology, gold_mining, gold_rush, miners, mining
Nursing collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Jul 17, 2013
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to nursing in Alaska. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Tags: medicine, nurses, nursing, nursing nurses health research, primary_sources
Permanent Fund Dividend
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Mar 24, 2015
This guide includes collections with materials related to the Permanent Fund Dividend
Railroad collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Nov 11, 2014
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections relating to railroads in Alaska, listed below by topic and in alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Senior Citizen Issues and Advocacy
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Apr 1, 2013
Collection with records related to senior citizen issues, advocacy, and gerontology.
Tags: alaska, archives, gerontology, history, primary sources, senior_citizens
Skiing and mountaineering collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated May 10, 2012
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to skiing and mountaineering. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
The 1930s
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Aug 7, 2015
A selected list of collections with material from the 1930s.
Tourism in Alaska
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Nov 4, 2015
Collections that document people's visit to Alaska.
Tags: alaska, alaskana, archives, climate_change, english, history, transportation
Women in Alaska Collections
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Sep 15, 2014
Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to women's experiences in Alaska. They are listed below in alphabetical order. Follow the links to a more complete list of each collection's contents.
Tags: feminism, primary_sources, women
World War II in Alaska
by Staff Archives and Special Collections - Last Updated Feb 8, 2016
Collections in Archives and Special Collection that contain materials related to World War II in Alaska.
Tags: archives, history, military, primary_sources, war, world war ii, world_war_ii, wwii

Office Hours

Monday 10-4
Tuesday 10-4
Wednesday 10-4
Thursday 10-4
Friday 10-4
Weekends or evenings By appointment
 

For more information

Please see our website for a complete list of our collections and other information about our holdings.

 
 
Description

  Loading...