African American history in Alaska
Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood
Alaska state legislators and legislation
Anchorage Winter Olympics bids
Arctic National Wildlife Refuge
Businesses, clubs, and organizations
Fishing, fisheries, and canneries
Fur trading, trapping, and farming
Geography and environmental studies
Non-English language collections
Senior Citizen issues and advocacy
Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage
Follow the links to full collection descriptions and inventories. This list is not a comprehensive list of all collections with materials related to the Anchorage Organizing Committees and the Olympics in Alaska.
Anchorage Olympic Organizing Committee Olympics records; 1976-1994, bulk 1984-1990. 47 cubic feet. HMC-1002. Records of Anchorage’s bids to host the Winter Olympics in 1992, 1994, and 1998.
Anchorage Chamber of Commerce records; 1946-2013. HMC-0048. The Anchorage Chamber of Commerce's purpose is to promote and enhance business and community services in the Anchorage community. Boxes 14, 15, 16, and 32 contain materials relating to various bids.
Edwin B. Crittenden papers; 1938-2005. HMC-0094. Edwin Crittenden's papers include many of his professional records relating to his career as an architect in Anchorage. The collection contains proposals and publications related to Anchorage's bid for the 1992 Olympic Winter Games. CCC Architects, Crittenden's architecture firm, was involved in the planning.
Karl Eid papers; 1937-2003. HMC-0423. Karl Eid was an Olympic class ski jumper in Germany prior to World War II. In Anchorage, he was active in teaching ski jumping and developing new ski jump facilities in Anchorage. The Karl Eid Ski Jumping Complex at Hilltop Ski Area was named in his honor. Box 3 contains a folder with materials related to Anchorage Organizing Committee activities.
Sharon Gagnon papers; 1973-2004. HMC-0446. Sharon Gagnon served on the Anchorage Organizing Committee for the Winter Olympics from 1987-1993. Box 4 contains her papers related to the Olympics.
Charles Konigsberg papers; 1947-1995. HMC-0794 Box 22 contains papers relating to the Anchorage Organizing committee and date from 1987 to 1995.
John and Linda Nelson papers; 1969-1987. HMC-0387. John and Linda Nelson ran Alaska Stagecraft, Inc. Box 8 includes one folder relating to the 1992 bid.
Dave Rose papers; 1960-2006. HMC-0977. Box 53 contains materials relating to the 1994 bid.
About the Library | Contact Us | FAQ | Giving to the Library | Site Search
UA is committed to providing accessible websites.
UA is an affirmative action/equal opportunity employer, educational institution, and provider and prohibits illegal discrimination against any individual. Learn more about UA's notice of nondiscrimination.
