Skip to main content

Resources for Primary Source Research

Archives in Alaska

UAA Archives & Special Collections (at UAA/APU Consortium Library):

·         Keyword search through guides (using search box in right-hand corner) to find collections that relate to your research

·         Browse by subject using the “Topical Guides" (not a comprenhesive list!)

Alaska Moving Image Preservation Association (at UAA/APU Consortium Library)

Atwood Alaska Resource Center, Anchorage Museum

National Archives Pacific Alaska Region (Anchorage branch)

Alaska & Polar Regions Collections & Archives (University of Alaska Fairbanks)

Alaska State Library Historical Collections (Juneau)

Sealaska Heritage Institute (Juneau)

Alaska State Archives (Juneau)

How to Find Primary Sources in the Lower 48 (not a comprehensive list)

Worldcat: This database covers many libraries and archives in the United States and Canada, but it only searches brief descriptions of archival holdings, not full finding aids. Limit your search to archival materials by selecting "Format" = "Archival Material" to limit your search to archival sources.

Archivegrid: This database includes finding aids from several thousand archival repositories across the United States and Canada. It searches through the detailed descriptions of larger archival collections.

Library of Congress: Catalog of archival collections held by the Library of Congress.  You may also want to look at the catalog of the Prints and Photographs division of the Library of Congress, which contains photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings that produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people, as well as some international subjects.

National Archives (Washington, DC): Catalog and guides to the official records of federal agencies of the United States government.

Northwest Digital Archives: Database of finding aids to archival collections at various archives in Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Alaska, and Washington.

Online Archive of California: Database of digitized archival material and finding aids to archival collections at various archives in California.

Rocky Mountain Online Archive: Database of digitized archival material and finding aids to archival collections at various archives in Colorado, New Mexico, and Wyoming.

Texas Archival Resources Online: Database of finding aids to archival collections at various archives in Texas.

Arizona Archives Online: Database of finding aids to archival collections at various archives in Arizona.

New York Public Library Archival Collections: Catalog of archival materials held by the NYPL that date from the 18th-20th centuries and document the history of African-American culture, Judaism and Jewish culture in the United States and elsewhere, theater, dance, and recorded sound, as well as the political, economic, social, and cultural history of New York and the United States.

How to Find International Primary Sources (not a comprehensive list)

Archives Canada: A gateway to finding archival collections (including digital collections) at over 800 Canadian archives that document Canadian history.

UK National Archives: A gateway to finding official and historic government records from England, Wales and the United Kingdom.

Russian Archives Online: A gateway to Russian archival collections of photographs and films, audio, clips and transcripts from the 15 republics of the former Soviet Union, including Russia, Ukraine, Georgia and many more.

Stalin Digital Archive: A collaboration between the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History and Yale Unievrsity Press that makes available archival and secondary source documents relating to the Stalin regime.

Guide to Russian Archives and Primary Documents: Guide produced by the School of Russian and Asian Studies with web links to different digitized archival collections and other resources for doing primary source research on Russian history.

Online Databases of Historic Newspapers and Journals

New York Time Historical Database (available through Consortium Library digital databases): Full-text articles from New York Times newspapers, 1851-2007.

Making of America (University of Michigan) and Making of America (Cornell University):  Full-text 19th century book and journals documenting American social history.  Search both websites for the broadest search.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress): Digitized newspapers from across the United States, dating from 1836-1922.

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections's picture
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
http://consortiumlibrary.org/archives
Website / Blog Page

Online Databases of Primary Sources

Alaska’s Digital Archives: Database of primarily historical photographs documenting the history of Alaska, but also includes diaries, manuscripts, maps, audio recordings (including oral histories), publications, and moving image film.  From the collections of UAA Archives & Special Collections, the Alaska Polar & Regions Collections at UAF, the Alaska State Library Historical Collections, Anchorage Museum, and other Alaskan archives.

American Memory (Library of Congress): Database of digitized written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.  From the collections of the Library of Congress.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery: Database of over 800,000 photographs, prints, manuscripts, posters and maps documenting all aspects of American culture and history.

University of Washington Digital Collections from UW Special Collections: Database of digitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, and posters documenting the history of Alaska and the Pacific Northwest.

Documenting the American South (University of North Carolina): Database of digitized books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs related to southern history, literature, and culture.

National Jukebox (Library of Congress): Digital collection of historic sound recordings.

Veterans History Project (Library of Congress): Digital collection of personal narratives, photographs, scrapbooks, drawings, diaries, and correspondence of American war veterans.

Hispanic Digital Collections (Library of Congress): Historic photographs, maps, and documents relating to the politics, culture, and history of Spain, Portugal, Latin America, and the Caribbean, as well as Hispanics and Portuguese in the United States, the Iberian Peninsula, and other places where Iberian culture dominated and has survived.

African American Digital Initiatives (compiled by Howard University): A list of online collections of digitized primary sources relating to the African American experience.

The Coming of the American Revolution, 1764-1776: Document Collections (compiled by the Massachusetts Historical Society): A list of select websites containing digitized primary sources that document the American Revolution.