QuickSearch
Find books & articles by searching across the library's collections.
Library Catalog
Article Databases
- Alaska & Polar Periodical IndexCites articles in English about Alaska, northern Canada, northern Scandinavia, the Russian Far East, and Antarctica. Coverage is strong from the 1980s to the present.
- Arctic & Antarctic RegionsWorld's largest collection of international polar databases. Over 1 million records covering multidisciplinary research on cold regions, spanning from 1800 to the present.
Additional Resources
- Anchorage Daily News (via NewsBank)Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Date range is Oct. 1995-current.
- Arctic & Antarctic RegionsThe ARLIS subscriptions to the NISC Databases are available to UAA students, staff, and faculty, and to the public on ARLIS library computers during ARLIS open hours (8 am – 5 pm, M-F). An ARLIS reference librarian will be happy to to help.
- Fairbanks Daily News-MinerComplete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
- Juneau EmpireComplete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
- Wenger Anthropological Eskimo DatabaseFocuses on first contact and primary source literature pertaining to the Inuit of Alaska, Canada, Chukotka, and Greenland. It contains the full text and illustrations of 200 significant English-language works, many of which are out of print.
Websites
Arctic Blue Books
A searchable, World-Wide Web version of Andrew Taylor's unique index more info
Arctic Environmental Atlas
Interactive map service presents environmental variables and parameters on the environment in the Arctic region. more info
Biobasis
The goal of BioBasis is to monitor the dynamics of a large variety of
organisms and biological processes in Northeast Greenland. more info
Cold Regions Bibliography Project
The Antarctic Bibliography covers all disciplines related to the region. more info
Directory of Polar and Cold Regions Organizations
Brief details of organizations with interests relating to the polar and cold regions. more info
International Polar Heritage Committee
A resource of information on matters related to the human heritage of Arctic and Antarctic regions. more info
Polar Web
Internet resources dealing with the lands and waters surrounding the North Pole and the South Pole more info
UAA School of Engineering Homepage
University of Alaska Anchorage: School of Engineering Homepage more info
More Websites
- Scott Polar Research InstituteWorld's most comprehensive polar library and archives, includes databases, collections, directories, image archives, and historical documentation on the Antarctic, and Arctic and northern regions.
- Arctic PortalWeb gateway to all things arctic.
Justice/Criminology |
Links: Profile & Guides More Information: Ask-a-Librarian: http://ask.consortiumlibrary.org/ |
Need More Help?
- Ask a LibrarianIM, phone, email or visit the reference desk.
- Get ConnectedTechnical assistance with accessing databases from off campus.



Loading...
