This is the "Home" page of the "Physics / Astronomy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Physics / Astronomy  Tags: physics astronomy  

Last update: Sep 29th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/physics_astronomy  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

QuickSearch Beta

What is this?
Find articles and books by searching several library databases at one time.

Physics/Astronomy 


  options
 

Library Catalog

Find material in the Consortium Library and other libraries in Anchorage and Southcentral Alaska.

more options
 

New Books @ Library

Titles recently added to the collection in Physics


Loading RSS Feed...
 

New Books @ Library

Titles recently added to the collection in Astronomy


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Article Databases

  • Academic Search Premier  
    The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, it provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
  • Applied Science & Technology Abstracts  
    Provides information on management, careers
    and employment, and financial trends in the
    scientific and technological fields. Dates Covered 1983 to present; abstracts since 1994.
  • General Science Abstracts  
    Abstracts leading journals and magazines from the U.S. and Great Britain. Describes biographical sketches, symposia, conferences, review articles, etc. Covers 1984 to present; abstracts since 1993.
  • Web of Science  
    Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals. Coverage is from 1991 - present.

Additional Resources

  • ArticleFirst  
    Includes items listed on journal table of contents pages. Each record describes one journal article, news story, letter, or other item. Provides a list of libraries that have the journal title for most items. Indexes 16,000 sources from 1990 to present.
  • Blackwell Science Synergy  
    A compilation of electronic journals provided by Blackwell.
  • Oxford Reference Collection - Physical Sciences & Mathematics  
    Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. A fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource.
  • Wilson Select Plus  
    Provides indexed and abstracted records with accompanying full text in periodicals from General Science Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, Readers' Guide Abstracts, Wilson Business Abstracts and others. Dates covered 1994 to present.
 

Websites

UAA Department of Physics and Astronomy

American Institute of Physics
Website of the American Institute of Physics.  more info

American Physical Society
Official website of the American Physical Society  more info

Astrobiology Magazine
Excellent source of information on life on other planets.  more info

NIST Virtual Library - Physics
Areas of physics research include: electron and optical physics, atomic physics, optical technology, ionizing radiation, time and frequency, and quantum physics.  more info

Physical Sciences Resource Center
Information and resources for physical sciences educators.  more info

Physics information from Science.gov
Links to quality physics websites from U.S. government agencies  more info

Physics Web
News, jobs, events, and resources for all areas of physics.  more info

PROLA
Free index to the online archive of Physical Review, a publication of the American Physical Society.  more info

Selected Papers of Great American Physicists
The Bicentennial Commemorative Volume of The American Physical Society 1976.  more info

The Virtual Library: Physics
Excellent compilation of physics-related links.  more info

 

Science Librarian

How Do I...?

Need More Help?

  • Ask a Librarian  
    IM, phone, email or visit the reference desk.
  • Get Connected  
    Technical assistance with accessing databases from off campus.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait