What is in this Guide
This guide is for Alaska nurses. It is designed to help you with research qeustions. Click on the tabs above or the links below. Please call 786-1870 or toll-free in Alaska 1-888-997-7878 if you have questions or need help.
Find Journals (By Title) -Does the library own a journal? Links on this page help you find out and also how to order specific articles from the library.
Find Books - Online books, how to request a book from the library, and more.
Evidence-Based Practice - Evidence pyramid, EBP resources, guidelines, and more.
Student Nurses - NCLEX practice exams, accredited progams, websites, and more.
Publishing Tips - Instructions for Authors; British Journal of Nursing series in 2010/2011 on publishing.
A World Without Nurses (YouTube video) - 3+ minutes video explores the value of the nursing profession.
Related Guides
Guides for Specific Professions / Groups
Related Subjects
Starting Points
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextThe authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators, and researchers. Searching Tips
* Over 2,900 journals and publications
* Began in1982
* Over 880,000 records
* Includes journal articles, meeting abstracts, audiovisuals and dissertations. - PubMedAccess to free MEDLINE available on the internet throughout the world. Provides access to over 20 million citations in 5,246 medical, nursing, dental, and research journals back to the 1950s. Tips for searching available as separate How To guide.
- Academic Search PremierDeveloped for undergraduate students - this is a general database covering many topics.
- Health Source Nursing/Academic EditionAccess provided as part of the Digital Pipeline.
- Arctic Health Publications DatabaseMaterial collected on health conditions for individuals living in the far north. Some full text. Visit the Health Topics area.
Beyond the Surface
The first three resources are either free or available by registering with the Alaska Medical Library. Other resources can be researched by one of the medical lbirarians. Contact us by phone (786-1870 or 1-888-997-7878) or email (aml@uaa.alaska.edu).
- ADA Nutrition Care ManualFull-text research-based nutrition information, patient education materials, and clinical tools for all the major human diseases, updated annually. Available to healthcare providers in the State of Alaska by registering with the Alaska Medical Library.
- TRIP: Turning Research Into PracticeFree earch engine for evidence-based sources on the web.
- Natural StandardAn international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies.
- Cochrane LibraryThis evidence-based practice collection of six databases containing Cochrane reviews, systematic reviews, clinical trials, and methods, assessments, and economic studies in health care/
- PsycINFOPsychology and related disciplines
Nearly 2.3 million items: articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations
1887 to the present
97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. - Business Source PremierGeneral interest and business research periodicals.
- ERIC - EducationThe world`s largest source of education information, with more than 1 million abstracts of documents and journal articles.
Alaska Medical Library

Contact us:
aml@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: 907.786.1870 or
1.888.997.7878 (in AK)
Fax: 907.562.2122
How To Videos
How-to videos on searching the CINAHL database.
- Basic CINAHL Searchintroduction to searching this nursing database. 3:15 minutes
- Advanced CINAHL Searchingadditional features demonstrated. 7:40 minutes
How Do I Request Articles
You can request a copy of an article from the Alaska Medical Library.
Within the nursing database CINAHL, add the items you need to the Folder, then click on the Folder icon (at the top of th page), select all the articles, then click the Email icon. Email your list to aml@uaa.alaska.edu.
You can email a list of articles to the same address, fax us a list of articles to 786-1608, or use our online form.
Photocopies (articles, book chapters) generally take one to two days, depending largely on whether the lending library can send the documents electronically.

Loading...
