QuickSearch Beta
What is this?
Find articles and books by searching several library databases at one time.
History
Find Books
New Books @ Library
Primary & Secondary Sources
When researching your topic, a distinction between PRIMARY and SECONDARY sources must be considered.
Generally, PRIMARY sources were created at the time of an historical event, or by a participant in that event. Primary sources represent a "window in time", and can most closely convey historical events. Examples include:
- Diary entries
- Personal narratives
- photographs
SECONDARY sources are derived from the works already written, recorded or published. Most history books are SECONDARY sources, relying on previously written accounts.
Article Databases
- Historical Abstracts Covers world history, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 A.D. to the present. Articles are derived from more than 2,100 journals pertaining to history and related fields published in over 40 languages.
- America: History & Life Articles are derived from more than 2,100 journals, of which about 900 are published in the United States and Canada. Includes journals of state and local historical societies, as well as relevant articles published in journals from the social sciences, general humanities, and other related disciplines.
- JSTOR JSTOR (an acronym for Journal Storage) is a non-profit effort to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. Comprised of full-text journals, the Consortium Library collection emphasizes the arts and sciences.
- Project Muse Provides tables of contents, and full text searchability for over 170 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics published by Johns Hopkins University Press. The articles include hyperlinked footnotes, large illustrations, and text designed for on-line reading and printing. Journal holdings vary from title to title, typically going back to 1995.
Websites
Digital Librarian - A Librarian's Choice of the Best of The Web
Stages of a Historical Research Project
Princeton University Library - Selected History Resources
The History Guide - Resources for Historians
History Resources - George Mason University Web Guides
History Matters - The U.S. Survey Course on the Web
Oxford HISTORY Reference Collection http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/SUBJECT_SEARCH.html?subject=s11
Reference Books
A good place to start gathering information on HISTORY and conducting Historical research
The Historian's Toolbox: A Student's Guide to the Theory and Craft of History - Williams, Robert C.
Call Number: REF D 16.W62 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 076562026X
Guide to the methodology of formulating and conducting research in History
American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature (3rd Edition)
Call Number: REF D 20.Z99 1995
ISBN/ISSN: 0195099524
A systematic survey of historical literature arranged chronologically and geographically, containing the finest and most useful books and articles available in every field of historical scholarship
Evidence Explained: Citing History Sources From Artifacts to Cyberspace - Mills, Elizabeth Shown
Call Number: REF D 5.M55 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 0806317817
A comprehensive research handbook/ manual for History
How Can I Help You ? |
Kevin KeatingNeed More Help?
- Ask a Librarian IM, phone, email or visit the reference desk.
- Get Connected Technical assistance with accessing databases from off campus.
RefWorks / Manage Your Research
RefWorks -- an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
Set up an account using your UAA/APU user ID and Password, and start organizing and sharing your research.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait