African American history in Alaska
Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood
Alaska state legislators and legislation
Anchorage Winter Olympics bids
Arctic National Wildlife Refuge
Businesses, clubs, and organizations
Fishing, fisheries, and canneries
Fur trading, trapping, and farming
Geography and environmental studies
Non-English language collections
Senior Citizen issues and advocacy
Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage
Alan May, William Clemes, and William S. Laughlin excavating an archaeological site on Amchitka Island in 1938. Alan G. May papers, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.
A person is sitting on a hill which overlooks the town of Makushin and Makushin Bay. Ted Bank papers, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.
Lelia Mitchell cooking at Sheshalik, 1952. Charles V. Lucier papers, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.
Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the page.
For collections held by archives, libraries, and museums across Alaska related to anthropology and archaeology, please visit the guide to anthropology and archaeology in Alaska primary sources on Alaska's Statewide Library Electronic Doorway (SLED).
Ted Bank papers; 1882-1980. HMC-0068. Papers of an anthropologist and explorer who led expeditions to the Aleutian Islands from 1948-1979 and served as the executive director of the American Institute for Exploration from 1954-1981. The collection includes records of Banks's expeditions, organizational papers of the American Institute for Exploration, drafts and publications by Ted Bank, motion picture film taken in the Aleutian Islands, and almost 10,000 photographs and negatives relating to Alaskan expeditions, the Ainu people, and other subjects.
Kerry Feldman papers; 1968-2010. HMC-1112. The professional papers of an anthropologist at UAA, whose main areas of research include urban anthropology, theory, applied anthropology, Alaska, and Southeast Asia.
Paul Guggenheim papers; 1937-2006. HMC-1095. The materials in the collection primarily pertain to the 1937 Smithsonian expedition to the Aleutians headed by Ales Hrdlicka and to archaeological work done on Amchitka during World War II.
Robert F. Heizer papers; 1949-1956. HMC-0136. Papers of a California anthropologist that include correspondence, notes, photographs, drafts of manuscripts, and a published article from his study of Koniag Eskimo artifacts of Kodiak Island.
Dorothy M. Jones papers; 1878-1991. HMC-0458. Papers of a sociologist whose work focused on the lives of Alaska Natives and their communities, especially the Aleut peoples.
Charles V. Lucier papers; 1890-2009. HMC-0165. Papers of a biologist who studied the culture, technology, and artifacts of the Inupiat peoples of the Kotzebue Sound and the Seward Peninsula areas from 1949 to 1953. The collection includes Lucier's photographs, travel journals, field notebooks, culture trait and word lists, reports on marine mammal hunting, articles on Inupiat archaeology and anthropology, and the autobiography of Inupiat nurse and midwife, Della Keats.
William S. Laughlin papers; 1931-1998. HMC-0360. The papers of a physical anthropologist who worked in the Aleutian Islands.
Alan G. May papers; 1902-1990. HMC-0690. Papers of an amateur archaeologist who participated in the Smithsonian Institution's Archaeological Expeditions to the Aleutian Islands from 1936 to 1938 that were led by Dr. Aleš Hrdlicka. The collection includes May's journals, publications, correspondence, and photographs relating to these expeditions.
Frederick A. Milan papers; circa 1943-1995. HMC-0687. Papers of an anthropologist, linguist, and human physiologist who worked in Alaska and other Arctic regions.
Craig Mishler papers; 1943-2018. HMC-1300. Craig Mishler is an cultural Alaskan anthropologist and folklorist. The collection contains files related to Mishler’s employment with the Alaska Department of Fish and Game, which include his work in Kodiak, Exxon Valdez Oil Spill litigation, as well as consulting and field work documenting the impact of the oil spill primarily in Ouzinkie and Old Harbor. The collection also contains genealogical files and interviews with people from Upper Tanana and Tanacross, files relating to the Over-the-Horizon Backscatter Project, and his work with the Alaska Division of Geological and Geophysical Survey at Dot Lake and Big Delta.
About the Library | Contact Us | FAQ | Giving to the Library | Site Search
UA is committed to providing accessible websites.
UA is an affirmative action/equal opportunity employer, educational institution, and provider and prohibits illegal discrimination against any individual. Learn more about UA's notice of nondiscrimination.
