What is in This Guide

Evidence-Based Medicine & Guidelines - Practice guidelines from multiple sources and EBM resources
Patient Information - Information for your patients including websites with foreign language options
Statistics - Alaska and national statistics
Related Guides
Guides for Specific Professions / Groups
Related Subjects
Find Articles
- Full Text Articles (LWW Collection)Must be registered with Alaska Medical Library to access the full text to all the articles in these 444 journal titles.
- PubMedBlue Alaska flag is your link to full text articles for Alaskans
- Arctic HealthPublications database has some links to full text articles.
- Digital Pipeline - for health/medicine articlesProvides Alaskans free access to 40 databases
Several health-related ones
Academic Search Premier has good medical content with full text articles
If you are prompted for the userID and password, call 1-800-440-2919 for an automated message.
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch Clinical Trials Listing Serviceone of the largest databases of global clinical trials actively seeking patients on the Internet.
- Clinical TrialsFrom the U.S. National Institutes of Health; provides patients, family members, and members of the public current information about clinical research studies.
- Oncolink's Clinical TrialsThe web's first cancer resource site now hosted at the Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania.
- Cancer Clinical Trials (NIH)Search NCI's list of 8,000+ clinical trials now accepting participants.
Laboratory Values
- Lab Tests OnlineSection on "Understanding Your Laboratory Test"
- Laboratory TestsLink to "critical values." From the Virginia Commonwealth University.
Alaska Medical Library

Contact us:
aml@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: 907.786.1870 or
1.888.997.7878 (in AK)
Fax: 907.562.2122
Finding Drug Information
- MedlinePlusDrugs, herbs, and supplements from the National Library of Medicine.
- DailyMedMedication content and labeling from the National Library of Medicine (NLM)
- Dr. Duke's Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical DatabaseSearch for plant and chemical information.
- Dietary Supplements Labels DatabaseMore than 2,000 selected brands of dietary supplements.

Loading...
