QuickSearch Beta
What is this?
Find articles and books by searching several library databases at one time.
Health Sciences
Peer Reviewed or Scholarly?
Your instructor may ask you to use only peer-reviewed or scholarly resources when researching your papers.
Is it a magazine or a journal?
Need primary rather than secondary sources? Consult Primary Sources in the Sciences to learn the difference. But return to Consortium Library website to find the sources you need in our article databases.
CINAHL Videos
How-to videos on searching the CINAHL database.
- Basic CINAHL Search introduction to searching this nursing database. 2:36 minutes
- Advanced CINAHL Searching additional features demonstrated. 7:40 minutes
- Saving Article References from the database to RefWorks. 2:41 minutes
- Saving, Printing, and Emailing (CINAHL) working with the results of the search. 2:53 minutes.
- Ordering an Interlibrary Loan (within CINAHL) for UAA students and faculty. 3:19 minutes
What do I do if the article I want is not at UAA
You can request a copy of an article from another library.
Go to Interlibrary Loan & Doc Delivery. Create an account if this is your first time or enter your Blackboard login.
Photocopies (articles, book chapters) generally take two to seven days, depending largely on whether the lending library can send the documents electronically. For more information, read the FAQ.
For how-to videos on this topic watch:
Creating an Interlibrary Loan Account
Managing Your Interlibrary Loan Account
Best Bets
Begin your research with these databases. Additional article databases can be found here.
- Academic Search Premier Developed for undergraduate students - this is a general database covering many topics.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text The authoritative resource for nursing and allied health.
- PubMed
Access to free MEDLINE available on the internet throughout the world. Provides access to over 18 million citations in 5,246 medical, nursing, dental, and research journals back to the 1950s. - Alt HealthWatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. - Natural Standard
Natural Standard is an international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. - Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From here you can link to fulltext and print holdings available from the UAA/APU Consortium Library.
ABOUT ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER
Academic Search Premier is a huge academic multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 4,500 scholarly publications, more than 3,700 of them peer-reviewed.The database dates back to 1975 and is updated daily. A subject thesaurus is available. One valuable search option allows searching for textwords within the full-text of articles. Click Ask a Librarian to get help with searching.
ABOUT CINAHL
CINAHL (Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health. This database indexes and abstracts over 2,900 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982.CINAHL covers most of the English-language nursing journals and the primary journals from allied health disciplines, biomedical, behavioral science, management, and popular medical literatures. Click Ask a Librarian on top menu get help with searching.
ABOUT PUBMED
PUBMED provides access to over 18 million citations from thousands of biomedical journals worldwide, including “in press” articles in MEDLINE as well as other life sciences areas from 1950 onwards. Most articles cited in PubMed are peer-reviewed.The database is updated daily and freely available on the Web. However, UAA and APU members who access PubMed from this Library website can link to the library’s full text resources.PubMed uses a comprehensive thesaurus of subject terms, called MeSH. Look for the online Tutorial, provided by the National Library of Medicine on the PubMed homepage.
ABOUT ALT HEALTHWATCH
Alt HealthWatch focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. The database includes fulltext articles for around 180 international and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition it includes pamplets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
ABOUT NATURAL STANDARD
Natural Standard Uses comprehensive methodology and reproducible grading scales to provide evidence-based, peer-reviewed information. Search by specific food,herb or supplement, health and wellness modality, medical condition, genomic topic, and environment/global health concern, as well as a dictionary, interactive tools and calculator. The database includes concise monographs for physicians and patients, more in-depth monographs, and links to reports and abstracts of new research and pertinent articles in the PubMed database. Natural Standard also offers an extensive dictionary of integrative medicine, a database of nutritional content of foods, and other interactive tools.
My profile |
Alaska Medical Library
UAA/APU Consortium Library
3211 Providence Drive, Anchorage AK 99508
Tel: (907) 786-1609
Fax: (907) 786-1608
Send Email
Subjects:
allied health, alternative health, evidence-based practice
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait