History

A good place to start gathering information about African-American History

The African American Atlas   REF E 185.A79 1998

Encyclopedia of African American History From the Colonial Period to Frederick Douglass (3 vol.)   REF E 185.E545 2006

Encyclopedia of African American History From 1896 to the Present (5 vol.)   REF 185.E5453 2009

African American National Biography (8 vol.)   REF E 185.96.A4466 2008

Slavery in the United States, A Social, Political & Historical Encyclopedia (2 vol.)   REF E 441.S635 2007

African Americans at War, an Encyclopedia (2 vol.)   REF U 52.S88 2004

Milestone Documents in African-American History - Explaining the Essential Primary Sources (4 vol.)  REF E 184.6.M55 2010

RefWorks  

RefWorks -- an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Set up an account using your UAA/APU user ID and Password, and start organizing and sharing your research.

African American History  (University of Washington)  http://guides.lib.washington.edu/history-africanam

African American Odyssey  (Library of Congress)   https://memory.loc.gov/ammem/aaohtml/aohome.html

African American Pamphlet Collection  (Library of Congress)   http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/aapchtml/aapchome.html

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture (New York Public Library)  http://www.nypl.org/locations/schomburg

Library of Congress Digital Collections   http://www.loc.gov/library/libarch-digital.html

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database   http://slavevoyages.org 

National Museum of African American History & Culture   https://nmaahc.si.edu

Liberated Africans   http://liberatedafricans.org