QuickSearch Beta
What is this?
Find articles and books by searching several library databases at one time. This search box searches Academic Search Premier, Contemporary Women's Issues, and the Consortium Library Catalog. To search more databases, check out the Articles section of this library guide.
Women / Gender Studies
Google scholar
(search results open in a new window)
Browsing Women's Studies Perodicals
Feminist Periodicals: A current listing of contents is a journal published by the Women's Studies librarian at the University of Wisconsin. It is published quarterly and provides the table of contents of variety of periodicals focusing on Women and Gender studies. Feminist Periodicals is available for free on the University of Wisconsin Women's Studies Librarian Office website.
In addition, theUniversity of Wisconsin's Women's Studies Librarian Office's website Women and Gender Magazines, Newsletters, and Journals With Web Presences also provides a great list of Women's Magazines and zines.
Article not in the library?
If the Consortium Library does not have the article you are looking for, you can Interlibrary Loan the article. Most often interlibrary loan articles are emailed to the person requesting the article. This is a great service that allows access to even more materials beyond the Consortium Library walls. One thing to remember, is that it will take time to fill your interlibrary load requests. So request articles well before your paper or project is due! To learn more about Interlibrary Loan, check out the Consortium Library's Interlibrary Loan tutorials.
Starting Points
- Contemporary Women`s Issues Provides full-text access to global information on women.
- Academic Search Premier Provides full text for many topics. Great place to start research.
More databases
- Sociological Abstracts Abstracts on all aspects of sociology and related disciplines. NOTE: This database has changed from FirstSearch to Cambridge Scientific Abstracts.
- Alternative Press Index Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change.
- Essay and General Literature Index Find contents in collected works focusing on humanities and social sciences.
- Social Sciences Abstracts Abstracts of articles on the social sciences.
- Wilson Select Plus Provides full text for many topics. Great place to start research.
Selected Print and CD ROM resources
A to Z of American Women Leaders and Activists
Biographies of American women active in social movements. more info
Women in Communication
Edited by Nancy Signorielli ; foreword by Alan M. Rubin. more info
Women in World History
Comprehensive biographical encyclopedia of women in history. more info
Women Studies Abstracts
Indexing and abtracting resource. more info
Women`s Issues
Consulting editor, Margaret McFadden. more info
Women`s studies encyclopedia
Edited by Helen Tierney. more info
Recommended General Women's/Gender studies websites
- Archives of Women in Science and EngineeringArchive of historical information.
- Digital Librarian: Women`s ResourcesA librarian`s choice of the best of the Web
- Discovering American Women's History OnlilneThis website from Middle Tennessee State University, provides access to digital collections of primary source material
- Documents from the Women`s Liberation MovementAn on-line archival collection from Duke University.
- Gifts of SpeechWomen's speeches from around the world.
- Institute for Women's Policy ResearchPublic policy research organization dedicated to issues of critical importance to women.
- Internet Women's HistoryClear and comprehensive web index covering Women's history from ancient to modern times
- ViVa: A Bibliography of Women's History in Historical and Women's Studies Journals
- Women and Gender Studies Web SitesProvides access to a wide range of resources in support of Women's Studies.
- Women's eNews | News for Women | Resources for Journalists
- Women's HistoryA comprehensive list of links and articles from about.com
- Women's Studies DatabaseGreat overview of women`s studies from the U of Maryland.
- Women's studies Internet Library searchFrom the Librarians' Index to the Internet.
- Views from the GapsContains information on a diverse group of women writers and their work.
- National Women's History ProjectProvides information on women's contributions in history.
Subject Guide |
Contact Info: 3rd Floor Archives and Special Collections Consortium Library, UAA/APU 3211 Providence Drive Anchorage, AK 99508 907.786.1867 Send Email |
Need More Help?
- Ask a LibrarianIM, phone, email or visit the reference desk.
- Get ConnectedTechnical assistance with accessing databases from off campus.
Description
Loading content... please wait





