Quick "how to" Videos
Locating Full Text Articles...
Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals - YouTube video created by Peabody Library (August 2007)
RefWorks
RefWorks is a bibliographic management software that enables you to create and customize your own database containing the references you retrieve in your research.
Need help using RefWorks? Check out these video tutorials!
QuickSearch Beta
What is this?
Find articles and books by searching several library databases at one time.
Education
ERIC Database
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
The world`s largest source of education information, with more than 1 million abstracts of documents and journal articles. This database is freely available through the U.S. Department of Education but is also available through other database vendors (below), who provide slightly different search interfaces. The content in all databases is the same. Why so many versions? Watch this tutorial!
And, what is a "Thesaurus" anyway? Watch this tutorial!
- ERIC - Ebsco versionSame search interface as "Academic Search Premier"
- ERIC - FirstSearch versionSame search interface as "WorldCat"
- ERIC - Public versionAccess from on campus to enable links to full text contained in other library databases.
- ERIC - CSA version
Other Core Education Databases
- Education Abstracts Provides access to articles from the leading publications in the field of education.
- Education Journals Provides access to professional journals covering all aspects of education-related issues.
- Professional Development Collection Provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators.
- Teacher Reference Center Provides online access to articles in over 350 professional and trade journals for teachers and school administrators.
Other Useful Databases
- Academic Search Premier Provides full text for many topics. Great place to start research.
- Dissertation Abstracts An index to dissertations and master's theses from institutions in North America and Europe.
- Social Sciences Citation Index A very comprehensive index that allows you to determine who is being cited (and by whom) in the social sciences literature.
Sub-discipline Databases
Often your educational research topic will fall within another discipline as well as education. In these cases, you may want to consult the primary database for that discipline as well as the education databases listed above.
- ABI/INFORM Global Indexes articles from business periodicals. Use this database if your topic covers business aspects of educational administration.
- PsychInfo Indexes articles from psychology journals since 1887. Use this database if your topic includes educational psychology.
- Sociological Abstracts indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Use this database if your topic includes aspects of social issues in education.
Education Librarian |
Contact Info: Consortium Library Room 301C University of Alaska Anchorage 3211 Providence Drive Anchorage, AK 99508 907-786-1977 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Education |
Need More Help?
- Ask a LibrarianContact the Consortium Library's reference desk by phone, email, live chat, or in person.
- Get Connected How to access online library resources from off campus.
Practice Tests & Study Guides
Google Scholar
Looking for more scholarly information but want to stick with the simple Google interface?
Search Google Scholar from within the library's website and you will be able to see which articles are availalbe in the library if they are not available online for free.
Watch this tutorial to find out more!
Google Search Tips
Description
Loading content... please wait



