Videos
How-to videos on searching the CINAHL database.
- Basic CINAHL Search introduction to searching this nursing database. 3:15 minutes
- Advanced CINAHL Searching additional features demonstrated. 7:40 minutes
- Saving Article References from the database to RefWorks. 2:41 minutes
- Saving, Printing, and Emailing (CINAHL) working with the results of the search. 2:53 minutes.
- Ordering an Interlibrary Loan (within CINAHL) for UAA students and faculty. 3:19 minutes
What do I do if the article I want is not at UAA
You can request a copy of an article from another library.
Go to Interlibrary Loan & Doc Delivery. Create an account if this is your first time or enter your Blackboard login.
Photocopies (articles, book chapters) generally take two to seven days, depending largely on whether the lending library can send the documents electronically. For more information, read the FAQ.
For how-to videos on this topic watch:
Creating an Interlibrary Loan Account
Managing Your Interlibrary Loan Account
Best Bets
Begin your research with these databases. Additional article databases can be found here.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text The authoritative resource for nursing and allied health. Provides indexing for over 2,000 journals and full text articles from over 600 journals for nursing, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Coverage dates back to 1981. Evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and research instrument tools are also part of this database.
- PubMed
Access to free MEDLINE available on the internet throughout the world. Provides access to over 18 million citations in 5,246 medical, nursing, dental, and research journals back to the 1950s. - Cochrane Collection
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and other evidence-based databases. - Proquest Nursing This database provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text. Coverage begins in 1986.
- DynaMed Evidence-based point-of-care resource with clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics. It is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals and systematic evidence review databases.
- PsychInfo Contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, from 1887 to the present. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
- Academic Search Premier Developed for undergraduate students - this is a general database covering many topics.
ABOUT CINAHL
CINAHL (Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing and abstracting for over 2,900 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982, totaling over 880,000 records. CINAHL contains references to journal articles, meeting abstracts, audiovisuals and dissertations. It indexes nearly all English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing. In addition, it covers the primary journals from allied health disciplines, biomedical, behavioral science, management, and popular medical literatures.
CINAHL & Nursing Classification
CINAHL uses some subject headings that include acronyms at the end of the heading, such as Animal Assisted Therapy (Iowa NOC), Sensory-Perceptual Alterations (NANDA), or Risk Identification (Iowa NOC). These acronyms refer to nursing classification systems. When searching CINAHL for a topic, it is recommended that a more general subject heading be used. Only use the nursing classification subject headings if you are looking for records that specifically mention the classification.
NANDA. North American Nursing Diagnosis Association (added to CINAHL in 1989)
Iowa NIC. Nursing Interventions Classification from the Iowa Intervention Project (added to CINAHL in 1994)
Saba HHCC. Saba Home Health Care Classification (added to CINAHL in 1995)
Iowa NOC. Nursing Outcomes Classification from the Iowa Intervention Project (added to CINAHL in 1999). Records are indexed with IOWA NOC terms only if the document states its use or inclusion.
Contact Me |
Qualitative & Quantitative Research
QuickSearch Beta
What is this?
Find articles and books by searching several library databases at one time.
Nursing / Medicine
What is Google Scholar?
Use Google Scholar to find citations with links to online & print holdings at UAA/APU Consortium Library.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait