- AHELP - Alaska Health Education Library Project
An electronic clearinghouse of current health promotion and health education resources specific to and available in Alaska. Contains information on health promotion programs, projects, materials, and more.
- Alaska Center for Health Data and Statistics. Informed Alaskans
InstantAtlas maps display BRFSS (Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System) variables by one of four geographic systems for Alaska.
- Alaska DHSS Digital Library
Employees of the State of Alaska Division of Public Health can access full-text journal articles and other evidence-based literature through this project sponsored in part by the New England Region, National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NER,NN/LM). Go to the Alaska PHN SharePoint and click the Staff Development tab. For more information, contact Gail Stolz
- Alaska Native Epidemiology Center
Mission is to contribute to the wellness of Alaska Native people by monitoring and reporting on health data, providing technical assistance, and supporting initiatives that promote health.
- Alaska Public Health Association
Mission is to advance the public’s health and to serve as a hub that connects all health groups in Alaska.
- Alaska State Public Health Division
State agency promoting the health and quality of life of Alaskans.
- Arctic Health
Central source for information on diverse aspects of the Arctic environment and the health of northern peoples. The site gives access to evaluated health information from hundreds of local, state, national, and international agencies, as well as from professional societies and universities. The Arctic Health Publications Database (currently more than 101,950 records) can help you find Arctic-specific articles.
- Teen Health Resources
Resource guide produced by the Alaska Medical Library with health and wellness resources for teens, parents, educators, and health professionals, including links to full-text journal articles on teen health research findings.
- Tools for Healthcare Providers
Clinical trials, general Alaska resources for healthcare, lab values, drug information, patient information, statistics, and more.
Federally approved information in HIV/AIDS clinical research, treatment and prevention, and medical practice guidelines.
- Association of State and Territorial Health Officials
National nonprofit organization dedicated to formulating and influencing sound public health policy.
- CDC - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Mission: monitor health, detect and investigate health problems, conduct research to enhance prevention, develop and advocate sound public health policies, implement prevention strategies, promote healthy behaviors, foster safe and healthful environments, and provide leadership and training.
- CDC Science Clips
Online bibliographic digest featuring scientific articles and publications that are shared with the public health community each week.
- CDC Stacks
Free digital archive of scientific research and literature produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
- CDC Wonder
Online databases with a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.
- Foreign Language Health Websites
Gathered by Sally Bremner, medical librarian at the Alaska Medical Library, and published in the October 2005 Newsletter.
- GIDEON: Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network
A worldwide Web-based information system for the diagnosis, epidemiology, therapy, and microbiology of infectious diseases. Public health workers in Alaska can access GIDEON by registering
(free) with the Alaska Medical Library.
- Guide to Community Preventive Services
Resource that uses systematic reviews to answer your questions about programs and policies to improve health and prevent disease in your community.
- Maternal and Child Health Library (Georgetown University)
A national federally-funded resource center located at Georgetown University, the MCH Library provides materials that are free, fully searchable, and in full text. For current awareness, also subscribe to the weekly MCH Alert
Brings together authoritative health information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
- National Association of County and City Health Officials
National organization working to improve the health of all people and all communities by promoting national policy, developing resources and programs, seeking health equity and supporting effective local public health practice and systems.
- National Cancer Institute
Comprehensive cancer website including clinical trials, statistcs, and research.
- Public Health Partners
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet.
- SEER (Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results) Cancer Statistics
Program of the National Cancer Institute that collects data on cancer cases from various locations and sources throughout the United States.
- Teen Health & Wellness
Support for middle and high school students. Topics include diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, mental health, sexuality and sexual health, suicide, bullying, green living, financial literacy, and more. Alaskans have free access to this resource through the Digital Pipeline
- World Health Rankings
Life expectancy and top 50 causes of death by country.
Alaska Medical Library
1‐888‐997‐7878 (toll-free in AK)