This is the "Home" page of the "Write Bibliographies Using APA, MLA, and Other Style Guides" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Write Bibliographies Using APA, MLA, and Other Style Guides   Tags: writing_guides  

Last Updated: May 10, 2012 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/content.php?pid=178790 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Citation Styles

The following list of citation style guides gives information and examples for writing papers and citing research using the conventions listed. Check the Library Catalog or at the Reference Desk for print copies of these and other style guides.
 

American Psychological Association (APA) Guides

APA Documentation Style

University of Wisconsin - Madison Writing Center
Examples are based on The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Includes guidelines for citing both print and electronic sources.

APA Formatting and Style Guide

Purdue University

APA Recommended Electronic Reference Formats

American Psychological Association
Includes APA-approved guidelines for citing electronic sources.

Modern Language Association (MLA) Guides

MLA Documentation Style

University of Wisconsin - Madison Writing Center
Examples are based on The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Includes guidelines for citing both print and electronic sources.

MLA Formatting and Style Guide

Purdue University

MLA Style

Citing electronic Sources
University of Wisconsin- Madison Writing Center
Examples are based on The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Includes guidelines for citing electronic sources.

Scientific Citation Style Guides

ACS Style Guide (American Chemical Society)

From Williams College Libraries.

Council of Science Editors

NLM Style Guide

University of Washington
Examples are based on The National Library of Medicine: Recommended Formats for Bibliographic Citation. Includes guidelines for print sources.

American Medical Association Style Guides

AMA Manual of Style Format from New York Medical College

AMA Manual of Style - Quick Reference Guide from Stamford University

 

More Style Guides

APSA (American Political Science Association)

University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center
Examples are based on The Style Manual for Political Science. Includes guidelines for print sources.

American Sociological Association Style Guide

California State University Los Angeles
This guide is intended for authors who are preparing manuscripts for publication in ASA journals. This handout is intended for students who are instructed to use "ASA style" when writing research papers. Consult the ASA Style Guide at the Reference Desk for additional or more detailed information.

Chicago Manual of Style Online

University of Chicago

Citing Electronic Information in History Pages

University of Memphis
Examples are based various citation styles. Includes guidelines for electronic sources.

Citing Medicine: the NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers

Provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.

NLM Style Guide

University of Washington
Examples are based on The National Library of Medicine: recommended formats for bibliographic citation. Includes guidelines for print sources.

 

Login to Refworks

Need Help?

Related Topics

Feedback/Suggestions

To provide feedback or suggestions regarding this guide please contact: 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip