Here you will find Library and other information resources for support of courses, teaching, and research in Construction Management.
Last Updated: Nov 19, 2012
Check out construction-related books in our ebrary e-book collection!
Green construction project management and cost oversight
Call Number: TH880.K8393 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Discusses the nuts and bolts of green construction, finance, and cost monitoring as a profession.
Titles recently added to the collection in Business and Management (click on New Titles Website below to see more titles added recently)
Find books & articles by searching across the library's collections.
Following are the major databases the Consortium Library offers for searching for articles and other content on business, management, and related subjects.
- Business Source Premier
Most comprehensive business database provided by the Library.
- Business Source Premier / Browse by company, industry, country, and market research topic
An alternate interface for searching Business Source Premier by type of business source.
- ABI/INFORM Complete
Nearly 3,900 full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information.
- LexisNexis Company Dossier
Profiles of U.S. and international public and large private companies.
- Mergent Online
A global company database.
- Wall Street Journal
Eastern Edition of the financial newspaper of record. Available on the ProQuest platform.
- Safari Books Online
Online books (ebooks) on business, IT and software development, social media and marketing, presentations, project management, digital media, security/network administration, and Google/Apple/Microsoft/Java applications.
- Compendex on Engineering Village 2
Lots of IT-related content in business settings in this core engineering database! Contains Over 8 million records indexing journals and conference proceedings from over 80 countries. Weekly updates.
ENGnetBASE contains the full-text of over 1,300 engineering handbooks from CRC Press and Taylor and Francis. New titles are continually added and others updated. Check out the business and CIS content!
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library
IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; and IEEE published standards. The Library currently has a five-simultaneous-users subscription.
A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Good coverage of green building techniques.
- LexisNexis Legal
Contains state and federal statutes, codes, and regulations; state and federal court cases; legal reference material; and law review articles.
- Small Business Reference Center
A comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, offering full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books. Searches can be conducted within specific ‘Business Topics’ and ‘Business Types.'
Additional significant databases related to business.
- LexisNexis News
Provides access to thousands of domestic and international newspapers, newswires, and other news sources.
- Anchorage Daily News (via NewsBank)
Full text of Alaska's major news daily, with coverage from 1986 to the present.
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (via Web of Science)
Major multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences, including business and related topics. Includes Journal Citation Reports, which shows rankings and impact factors of journals within and across disciplines.
- Journal Citation Reports (for Social Sciences and Sciences)
JCR allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 80 countries. It can show you the: most frequently cited journals in a field; highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field.
- Historical Encyclopedia of American Business
A complete view of all aspects of American business. Published under the Salem History platform.
- Encyclopedia of E-Collaboration
Includes 109 authoritative contributions on information on the design and implementation of e-collaboration technologies, the behavioral impacts of e-collaboration technologies on individuals and groups, and theoretical considerations on links between the use of e-collaboration technology and behavioral patterns.
- Alaska Business and Commercial Links from SLED
AKSourceLink connects a network of 140 not-for-profit business support organizations across the state of Alaska to aspiring and existing business owners who need their services.
- Alaska Business Monthly
Alaska's premier business magazine.
- Alaska Journal of Commerce
Alaska's longest running weekly business publication.
Leading provider of online annual reports to individual and institutional investors.
- Business Reference Services at the Library of Congress
Great clearinghouse site with subject guides, definitions, and resources for all areas of business.
The official business link to the U.S. Government.
- (CIA) World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
- Country Studies (Library of Congress)
Online versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. Each study (covering years between 1986 and 1998 offers a comprehensive description and analysis of the country or region's historical setting, geography, society, economy, political system, and foreign policy.
- EDGAR Search (Securities and Exchange Commission)
Interface to the United States Securities and Exchange Commission Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis and Retrieval (SEC EDGAR) Filings.
- Entrepreneurship Resources
Resources, Education, and Tools for Entrepreneurs.
- Institute of Social and Economic Research (ISER) at UAA
ISER at UAA maintains the state's largest economic database and forecasts population and employment growth.
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The system used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
- Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
One-stop destination for industrial buyers that enables them to find the exact product, service or supplier they need, at the exact time they need it.
Over 500 free business plans to peruse. Choose the category that is closest to your own business or industry, and find a plan you like. You can use it for reference in writing your own plan, or actually open it in Business Plan Pro software (sold on the website) and edit it to match your business
Trina Carter, MA, MLS
Consortium Library, Room 301C
907-786-1846 Trina@uaa.alaska.eduSend Email