This is the "Home" page of the "Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Chemistry  Tags: chemistry  

Last update: Sep 28th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/chemistry  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

QuickSearch Beta

What is this?
Find articles and books by searching several library databases at one time.

Chemistry 


  options
 

Library Catalog

Find material in the Consortium Library and other libraries in Anchorage and Southcentral Alaska.

more options
 

New Books @ Library

Titles recently added to the collection in Chemistry


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Article Databases

  • American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals  
    Full text of 24 ACS journals, plus indexing for 8 more, from 1996 - present. ACS advances knowledge and research through scholarly publishing, scientific conferences, information resources for education and business, and professional development efforts.
  • PubMed  
    Provides free access to the biomedical database of bibliographic information, which is drawn primarily from MEDLINE and PREMEDLINE. It also provides free access to the molecular biology databases included in NCBI's Entrez retrieval system.
  • CSA Family of Databases  
    The CSA databases cover major areas of research, including biological sciences, environmental sciences and pollution management, fisheries and aquatic sciences, biotechnology, and materials science.
  • Web of Science  
    Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals. Coverage is from 1991 - present.
  • Academic Search Premier  
    The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, it provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.

Additional Resources

  • Applied Science & Technology Abstracts  
    Provides information on management, careers
    and employment, and financial trends in the
    scientific and technological fields. Dates Covered 1983 to present; abstracts since 1994.
  • ArticleFirst  
    Includes items listed on the table of contents pages of journals. Describes one article, news story, letter, or other item from a journal in each record. Provides a list of libraries that have the journal title for most items. Covers 1990 - present.
  • Environmental Science & Pollution Management  
    Provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 4000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
  • Compendex  
    Compendex on Engineering Village 2 - Multidisciplinary Engineering. Covers all fields of engineering 1969 - present.
  • General Science Abstracts  
    Abstracts leading journals and magazines from the U.S. and Great Britain. Describes biographical sketches, symposia, conferences, review articles, etc. Covers 1984 to present; abstracts since 1993.
  • Oxford Reference Collection - Physical Sciences & Mathematics  
    Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. A fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource.
 

Websites

Where to Find Chemical Information
An excellent listing of the best chemical information resources in the Consortium Library.  more info

ChemID
Includes information for more than 350,000 chemicals, plus structural data and links to other chemistry sites.  more info

CHEMINFO
From Indiana University. One of the most comprehensive chemistry sites on the Internet.  more info

NIST Chemistry WebBook
Gateway to the data collections of the National Institute of Standards and Technology.  more info

WebElements
Excellent source of information on the elements in the periodic table.  more info

American Chemical Society
Official website for one of the largest chemistry organizations in the world.  more info

Chemistry and Chemicals from Science.gov
Links to quality chemistry websites from U.S. government agencies  more info

ChemSpy
The Internet navigator for the chemical industry.  more info

Library of Chemistry Information
Quality source of comprehensive links to chemistry information from the USDA's Food and Drug Administration.  more info

Links for Chemists
From the WWW Virtual Library Chemistry Section. Includes an index to over 8,400 chemistry resources.  more info

NIST Virtual Library - Chemistry
Links to chemistry resources from NIST\'s Virtual Library.  more info

Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide
An intuitive WWW resource guide for synthetic organic chemists  more info

PubChem
Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.  more info

 

Science Librarian

Profile ImageDaria O. Carle
Contact Info:
Associate Professor
Consortium Library, Room 301D
907.786.1869
Send Email

Subjects:
Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Environmental Sciences, Geology, Honors Program, Mathematics / Applied Statistics, Physics / Astronomy

How Do I...?

Need More Help?

  • Ask a Librarian  
    IM, phone, email or visit the reference desk.
  • Get Connected  
    Technical assistance with accessing databases from off campus.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait