Skip to main content

Paramedical Technology: CINAHL

A guide for students taking PMED courses at Mat-Su College and other UAA campuses.

Link to CINAHL Plus

CINAHL Plus

Click the link above to enter CINAHL Plus. If you're off-campus you will be asked to login with your UA username and password (which you also use with Blackboard and email).

Using CINAHL

In CINAHL it is very important to uncheck the "Suggest Search Terms" search box. If you don't, CINAHL will show suggested search terms rather than articles.

Screenshot of search box in CINAHL

In the search results screen you can make CINAHL display only certain kinds of results using the left-hand portion of the screen. (Do not check the "Full Text" button, as it will exclude many useful results that you can easily read -- see below). For example, you can make CINAHL show only scholarly articles from the last few years:

Screenshot illustrating limits area within CINAHL

To learn more about an article click its title. This will display information about its authors, where and when it was published, as well as an abstract (or summary) of the article. To read an article click "PDF Full Text" or "Check Library For Full Text:"

Screenshot of CINAHL interface

Why you shouldn't ever click "Limit to Full Text"

CINAHL (and most other databases) include an option in the search results page along the lines of "Limit to Full Text":

Screenshot of the Limit to Full Text placement in CINAHL

It may seem like a good idea to turn this on. It is not. You should not use it.

A database doesn't really exist to show you articles. It exists to show you article citations, or details of articles. A database like CINAHL only has the full text for some of these articles (maybe 10 or 20 percent). If you click "Limit to Full Text" you cut out many of your best search results.

For those articles not in CINAHL with full text, a "Check Library for Full Text" appears. When you click this link the library tries to find the full text of the article in another database (not CINAHL). Most of the time it works and you can immediately read your article.

Sometimes, you will get a message saying that the item is not available online through the library:

Screenshot of message saying item is not available online

But that's okay! Just make a note of the article title, its author, the journal it appeared in, the date, and the pages -- basically, what you see right there on the screen. Then go to the Mat-Su College Library website and click the "Interlibrary Loan" link:

Screenshot of Interlibrary Loan Link on library website

At the Interlibrary Loan page, just fill out the form for requesting a journal article. We'll find a library with a print copy, we'll have them scan it and email it to us, we''ll print it out for you, and then we'll let you know it's ready. This is a free and fast service. It gives you access to just about any journal article you could ever want.