Skip to main content

Alaska Medical Library / Health Sciences Collections

Health Sciences Collections

Health sciences collections are accessible and free to the public.  They are located on the second floor of the Consortium Library.

Books
Pre-clinical titles are found in the Qs.  Most clinical titles are found in the Ws.  Some psychology titles can be found in the Bs and HVs. 

EBooks
A list of e-books collections includes Ebrary and R2 Digital Library.  These two collections contain medical/nursing titles.

Health Journals

  1. Found on the second floor.
  2. Shelved by the major words in the title (of, the, for, etc. are ignored).  The alphabet begins on the left, crosses the aisle from the low shelving to the high shelving in a weaving “s” formation. 
  3. Most current years are only online.

Health Reference

  1. On the second floor near the research computers.
  2. Find online options using QuickSearch.

Historical Health Sciences Collection
Older editions of classic nursing books and a few historical medical books can be found behind the Health Reference shelves.  These items can be checked out. 

Anatomy
AnatomyTV - is an online tool with over 4,000 3D anatomical structures.

DVDs
This format is shelved in the Media Room separated into leisure and academic sections.

Websites

Arctic Health is great for locating Alaskan health material

MedlinePlus as the key consumer health website for many health-related topics

Consumer Health is a collection of websites chosen by the medical librarians at UAA

Alaska Medical Library

 Contact us:
aml@alaska.edu
Phone: 907.786.1870 or
1.888.997.7878 (in AK)
Fax: 907.786.1834