Skip to main content

Ebooks @ the Consortium Library

A guide to finding, using, and downloading ebooks at the UAA/APU Consortium Library.

Ebook Collections

The following table outlines the various ebook collections available through the Consortium Library, specific features of each collection, and printing/downloading options:

Ebook Collection

Content

User Limit 

Printing/Downloading

ASHRAE Handbook

Expert-reviewed information on heating, ventilation, air-conditioning, and refrigeration topics. Unlimited users Must download plugin to view full text. Chapters can be saved and printed as PDF files.

Ebook Collection (EBSCOhost)

Collection of individually selected ebooks on a wide range of topics. Single user

Ebooks can be read online in the eBook Viewer by clicking the eBook Full Text link. Note: If you are using a Mac, you will need to install a PDF browser plugin called Schubert|it in order to use the eBook Viewer.

Most EBSCO ebooks can be checked out (from 1-7 days) and downloaded to your computer or transferred to a mobile device using Adobe Digital Editions. See the EBSCO Ebooks guide for more information.

Typically up to 60 pages of an ebook can be printed or saved as a PDF file per session. (The number of pages may vary depending on individual publisher-specified limits.)

Ebrary

The Library has two types of Ebrary ebooks:

Community College Subscription Collection: Over 20,000 ebook titles covering multiple subjects

Perpetual Access Collection: Over 800 (and growing) ebook titles covering multiple subjects

Community College Subscription Collection: Unlimited users

Perpetual Access Collection: Single user

All Ebrary books can be read online in the QuickView Reader.

Community College Subscription Collection ebooks can be checked out for 14 days and downloaded to your computer or transferred to a mobile device using Adobe Digital Editions.

Perpetual Access Collection ebooks can only be used by one person at a time and are not able to be checked out. Portions of the ebook can be saved or printed as a PDF file.

See the Ebrary Ebooks guide for more information.

Typically up to 60 pages of an ebook can be printed or saved as a PDF file per session. (The number of pages may vary depending on individual publisher-specified limits.)

EngNetBase

Engineering-related reference ebooks.   Chapters can be downloaded and printed as PDF files.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Unlimited users

Ebook articles can be viewed as text or PDF files. You must be in text view to print.

Ebook articles can be downloaded as HTML or PDF files, as well as to mobile devices. See publisher's Help page for further details.

Listen Alaska

Downloadable digital content, such as ebooks, audiobooks, and music. Includes popular fiction as well as nonfiction titles. Single user

Ebooks can only be viewed after being checked out and downloaded through Adobe Digital Editions software.

See the Alaska Digital Library Ebooks guide for more information

Copying and printing permissions vary by publisher and may be limited or prohibited.

Literature Criticism Online

Critical literary analysis of authors and their works across a broad range of regions, eras, and genres. Includes content from the following literary series:

•Contemporary Literary Criticism
•Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
•Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
•Shakespearean Criticism
•Literature Criticism from 1400–1800
•Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
•Poetry Criticism
•Short Story Criticism
•Drama Criticism
•Children's Literature Review
•Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
•Something About the Author Online

Unlimited users Sections can be downloaded and printed as PDF files, up to 50 pages at at time.

Ovid Books

Medical, nursing, allied health, and drug ebooks.  

Individual chapters can be printed.

Downloading not available.

Oxford Reference Online

Over 100 dictionary, encyclopedia, language reference, and subject reference works. Unlimited users

To print an entry, click the printer icon. A printable version is displayed in your browser which can then be printed.

To save an entry, click the save icon, and follow the instructions given. (Must create a free Oxford Reference account to use this feature.)

Downloading not available.

R2 Digital Library

Medical, nursing, allied health, and drug ebooks.   Individual pages can be printed, but copying and pasting text into a document seems to work better.

Safari Books Online

Selected titles in engineering, computer science, technology, and business. 2 simultaneous users

Individual pages can be printed.

Downloading not available.

Sage Reference Online

The library subscribes to the Sage Reference Online 2011 Handbook Collection (19 titles). Unlimited users Chapters can be downloaded and printed as PDF files.

Scribner Writers Online

This literary series covers the lives and works of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world.

Unlimited users

 

Ebook articles can be viewed as text or PDF files. You must be in text view to print.

Ebook articles can be downloaded as HTML or PDF files, as well as to mobile devices. See publisher's Help page for further details.

Springer Ebooks

Behavioral Science ebooks (2005-2011)

Earth & Environmental Science ebooks (2005-2011)

Handbook of Environmental Chemistry (1997-2004)

Lecture Notes in Earth Sciences (1997-2004)

Unlimited users Chapters can be downloaded and printed as PDF files.

STAT!Ref

Ebooks on a variety of nursing topics. Includes MedCalc 3000 and Stedman's Medical Dictionary. 2 simultaneous users

Publisher restrictions limit how much you can print at one time. Whole chapters usually will not print in their entirety. Alternatives include highlighting the section of text you wish to print and clicking the printer icon in the toolbar or copying and pasting sections of text into another document to print later.

Downloading not available.

Twayne's Authors Online

Literary criticism series comprised of Twayne's U.S. Authors, Twayne's English Authors, and Twayne's World Authors. Unlimited users

Ebook articles can be viewed as text or PDF files. You must be in text view to print.

Ebook articles can be downloaded as HTML or PDF files, as well as to mobile devices. See publisher's Help page for further details.