Skip to main content

Dog Mushing: The Official Alaska State Sport

Archival collections at the Consortium Library

The following are some archival collections that have many materials related to dog mushing in Alaska.

Greater Anchorage, Inc. Fur Rendezvous records, 1938-2005. The record of the organization responsible for the annual Fur Rendezvous festival in Anchorage.

Lorrie and Sarge color slides, 1948. One folder of slides in this collection relates to the Tenth Rescue Squadron at Ft. Richardson dating from the late 1940s. These images have also been digitized and placed online in the Alaska's Digital Archives.

Bill Bacon photograph files, 1940-1990.  Bill Bacon is a professional photographer in Alaska and his photograph collection has a number of images related to dog mushing and sled races in Alaska.

Russ Dow papers, 1917-1992. Russ Dow was an amateur photographer who worked and traveled in Alaska extensively from the 1930s up to the time of his death in 1992. His collection includes photographs related to Fur Rondy races as well as the early years of the park rangers in McKinley National Park and Preserve and the sled dog teams there. Some images from his collection are available on the Alaska's Digital Archives.

As well as:

If you'd like to view archival images relating to dog mushing from a variety of Alaskan archives, museums and libraries, be sure to visit the Alaska's Digital Archives.  Use search terms such as dogs, sleds, dog teams, dogsledding, and sled dog racing. Archives and Special Collections also has many other collections that aren't listed above that you can find by using similar search terms on the A&SC site.

History of Dog Mushing in Alaska

Scenes from the 2012 Iditarod Sled Dog Race

Treatment of Sled Dogs

A regular public concern with dog mushing is the welfare of sled dogs and how they are treated. Following are some links to information.

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections's picture
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
http://consortiumlibrary.org/archives
Website / Blog Page