Database searching concepts:
CINAHL: Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature
- # of journals: over 4,900
- full text articles from over 750 journals
- Foreign languages: yes
- Disciplines covered: nursing; 17 allied health disciplines
- Years covered: 1937 to present
- Use search results: display, print, email, save, export to RefWorks
- Produced by the NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) and the National Library of Medicine
- Produced for the scientists creating the Human Genome database
- # of journals: over 5,200. Over 20 million articles
- Includes animal information, both research and for vet medicine
- Free? Yes, to anyone in the world with access to the Internet
- Access: 1) starting from library website grants access to full text articles subscribed to by UAA 2) starting from the Internet (no access to licensed articles)
- Loansome Doc: online ordering module that is part of PubMed. Use to get the full text of an article from your medical library for a fee.
Nursing and Allied Health from Proquest
- # of journals: indexes more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text. Coverage begins in 1986.
- Advantage: journals chosen because most provide full text access
- Disadvantage: only 850 titles compared to 2500 when searching CINAHL or 5200 journals when searching PubMed.
Medline (one of the databases that is part of PubMed)
- Produced by the National Library of Medicine
- Nursing journals: yes, but not as many as in CINAHL
MeSH: medical subject headings. Authorized listing used to index articles - assign subject headings.
Boolean Operators (visual explanation)
- AND: used to combine two or more concepts. AND reduces the number of items retrieved since ALL the concepts MUST be included.
- OR: used to search for two or more similar ideas. OR expands the number of items retrieve since only ONE concept is required.
- NOT: used to eliminate a concept.
Textwords (or Keywords): searching using words supplied by the author or searcher for topics with no subject heading (new drugs) or for doing in-depth research on a topic where you want to find EVERYTHING.
Truncation and Wild Cards
- * is used in CINAHL and PubMed to find similar terms with different endings. For example, nurs* would find nurse, nurses, nursing.
- ? is used to replace a character within a word.
Embargo: In academic publishing, an embargo is a period during which access is not allowed, typically the most current 3 months to 1 year.
Full Text Articles
- Find when searching in a database by clicking the Check Library for Full Text link.
- Use QuickSearch or the Journals A to Z option when the journal and citation is known.
ILL: interlibrary loan
Peer Review: as a subject refers to the process of doing peer review; peer review as a limit finds articles in peer reviewed journals. The article is reveiwed by peers in that field prior to being published.
PICOS: PICOS is an mnemonic for Patient Population or Problem, Intervention (treatment/test), Comparison (group or treatment), Outcomes, and Setting or Study type. PICOT is also used where the T stands for Time.
Research: a type of publication - different from clinically-based articles
RefWorks: Online bibliographic management program that allows users to create a personal database of references and generate bibliographies in a variety of formats.
Scholarly: Scholarly (or academic) journals contain articles written by researchers who are experts in their field.