African American history in Alaska
Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood
Alaska state legislators and legislation
Anchorage Winter Olympics bids
Arctic National Wildlife Refuge
Businesses, clubs, and organizations
Fishing, fisheries, and canneries
Fur trading, trapping, and farming
Geography and environmental studies
Non-English language collections
Senior Citizen issues and advocacy
Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage
Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.
Alaska Rural Rehabilitation Corporation records; 1935-1949. HMC-1174. Records of the Alaska Rural Rehabilitation Corporation (Palmer Colony).
C. Earl Albrecht papers; 1905-1996. HMC-0375. Personal and professional papers of a doctor who came to work in Palmer colony in 1935.
Glenn H. Bowersox photographs and papers; 1937-2005. HMC-0731. Between 1931 and 1939, Bowersox served as the radio operator and purser aboard the USMS Boxer and the USMS North Star that bought and shipped supplies to government agencies such as the Alaska Rural Rehabilitation Corporation (Matanuska Colony). Collection includes photographs of Matanuska Colonists traveling to and arriving in Alaska.
Ruby I. Cashen papers; 1935-1937. HMC-0421. The collection consists of an article and photographs relating to the Matanuska Colony.
Thelma Caulkins papers; 1936-1975. HMC-1223. Primarily letters and journals of a woman who moved to Alaska with her family as part of the Matanuska Colony project.
"Rusty" Dow papers; 1910-1989. HMC-0397. Papers of a woman who moved to Palmer in 1934 and opened her own trucking firm.
Jack O'Malley papers; 1935-1996. HMC-1185. The collection consists of Jack O’Malley’s surveying and engineering papers including survey field books, research files, and maps and plans. Surveys included the original Matanuska Valley Colony sites done with Anton Anderson.
Almer Peterson papers; 1935-1948. HMC-0413. Primarily photographs related to an attorney’s residence in Palmer colony.
Nancy Jordan Strohmeyer interview recordings; 1990-1999. HMC-1273. Includes audio recordings with Dr. C. Earl Albrecht.
Frances and Harry Walton correspondence; 1923-1952. hmc-0342. Primarily letters relating to their life in Alaska, including their stay in the Matanuska Colony.
Ephemera collections (no further description available at this time):
Matanuska Valley Fair Association programs; 1936-1958. EPH-0054
Matanuska Valley 4th of July Committee program; 1936. EPH-0055.
About the Library | Contact Us | FAQ | Giving to the Library | Site Search
UA is committed to providing accessible websites.
UA is an affirmative action/equal opportunity employer, educational institution, and provider and prohibits illegal discrimination against any individual. Learn more about UA's notice of nondiscrimination.
