Skip to main content

Writing Assignments

This guide should help you get started on any writing assignment you may be given. If you don't see your particular type of assignment here, or if you need any help, please feel free to contact us!

Journals

Following are a few reputable journals that regularly publish reviews for books. These journals are indexed in our databases or the library subscribes to them in print.

  • Choice
    Choice Reviews Online published by the Association for College and Research Libraries. Essential resource for academic and non-fiction book reviews.
  • Horn Book Magazine
    Reviews of the best children's books published, articles about children's books, explorations of children's books from every perspective and news of the children's book world.
  • Library Journal
    Find impartial library book reviews on new & prepublication books, best-sellers, fiction, non-fiction, literature, reference & more.

Book Review Databases

You can find book reviews in many of the databases the library subscribes to - general databases, news databases and subject specific databases. Start at the library databases page and choose which database you would like to search. When searching, be sure to use the keywords "review" or "book review" in addition to the book title or author when performing a search. Here is a sampling of some of the databases you can try:

Academic Search Premier

Search by book title in quotes or author and review, For example: "The Great Gatsby" and review

Literature Resource Center

Search by author or book title in quotes. Reviews will be listed under "Literary Criticism" tab or under "Reviews & News" tab.

 

Websites

Here is a sampling of reputable web resources for locating book reviews:

 
  • New York Times Book Review
  • Subject Guide

    Page Brannon's picture
    Page Brannon
    Contact:
    786-1873