Skip to main content

Writing Assignments

This guide should help you get started on any writing assignment you may be given. If you don't see your particular type of assignment here, or if you need any help, please feel free to contact us!

Citation Styles

There are many guides for learning citation styles for both print and electronic resources. Students should use the style guides generally accepted by their departments. You'll need to ask your professor which one he or she prefers. On this page, you will find guides (books and webpages) to citing both print and electronic resources from a variety of venues.

If you have any difficulties, be sure to consult with a Reference Librarian.

It is important that you are consistent throughout your paper in how the citations are presented and what information they include. Remember, the whole concept of citations is to help your reader identify and retrieve the same material you used!

Citation Style Links

The following list of citation style guides gives information and examples for writing papers and citing research using the conventions listed. Check the Library Catalog or at the Reference Desk for print copies of these and other style guides.
 

American Psychological Association (APA) Guides

APA Documentation Style

University of Wisconsin - Madison Writing Center
Examples are based on The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Includes guidelines for citing both print and electronic sources.

APA Formatting and Style Guide

Purdue University

APA Recommended Electronic Reference Formats

American Psychological Association
Includes APA-approved guidelines for citing electronic sources.

Modern Language Association (MLA) Guides

MLA Documentation Style

University of Wisconsin - Madison Writing Center
Examples are based on The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Includes guidelines for citing both print and electronic sources.

MLA Formatting and Style Guide

Purdue University

MLA Style

Citing electronic Sources
University of Wisconsin- Madison Writing Center
Examples are based on The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Includes guidelines for citing electronic sources.

Scientific Citation Style Guides

ACS Style Guide (American Chemical Society)

From Williams College Libraries.

Council of Science Editors

NLM Style Guide

University of Washington
Examples are based on The National Library of Medicine: Recommended Formats for Bibliographic Citation. Includes guidelines for print sources.

American Medical Association Style Guides

AMA Manual of Style Format from New York Medical College

AMA Manual of Style - Quick Reference Guide from Stamford University

 

More Style Guides

APSA (American Political Science Association)

University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center
Examples are based on The Style Manual for Political Science. Includes guidelines for print sources.

American Sociological Association Style Guide

California State University Los Angeles
This guide is intended for authors who are preparing manuscripts for publication in ASA journals. This handout is intended for students who are instructed to use "ASA style" when writing research papers. Consult the ASA Style Guide at the Reference Desk for additional or more detailed information.

Chicago Manual of Style Online

University of Chicago

Citing Electronic Information in History Pages

University of Memphis
Examples are based various citation styles. Includes guidelines for electronic sources.

Citing Medicine: the NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers

Provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.

NLM Style Guide

University of Washington
Examples are based on The National Library of Medicine: recommended formats for bibliographic citation. Includes guidelines for print sources.

Online Citation Guides

It is important to credit the source of anyone else's ideas that you have used or mentioned in your writing. If you don't, you could be accused of plagiarism - a charge that is taken very seriously by teachers and exam boards

This guide will help you understand:

Why you need to reference your sources
Recognise the details needed to make up a citation/reference
How to use Word 2007 to quickly & easily incorporate citations and bibliography into your work
How to construct a citation/reference for a bibliography using the Harvard (APA) system (favoured by British exam boards)
MLA

APA

What is a citation? A citation...

  • describes a book, journal article, website, or other published item
  • gives credit to the originator of an idea, thus preventing plagiarism
  • enables the reader to retrieve the item you refer to
  • includes the author, title, source (publisher and place of publication or URL), and date

Where can I get help in formatting my citations correctly?

There are many guides to help you understand how to format and present your citations in a bibliography or as footnotes or endnotes in a paper or thesis. The library provides online access to the most standard citation guidebook: The Chicago Manual of Style. We also have all the major guides to Psychology, MLA, ASA and other guides. To find those books, see the links below.

Selected Style manuals

Additional Help


Consortium Library reference staff are available...

by instant message:

Chat now with a librarian.

by phone:
907-786-1871 

by e-mail:
Send email

in person:
Reference Desk on 1st floor
Service hours