Skip to main content

Mental Health Resources for Alaska Practitioners: Find Articles

Article Databases - Free for Alaskans

These article databases are funded by the State Legislature -- most include full-text articles.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to locate full-text peer-reviewed papers, theses, abstracts and articles.

Can't Find it Free Online?

If you cannot find a copy of the article on the Internet for free, try your local public library.  Most libraries do not charge to get a copy of an article from another library for registered library patrons.  Whan a charge is levied, it is often less than $10.  Most publisher websites charge $25 or more.  The Alaska Medical Library will fill article requests from our collection for $8 per item.  If we do not own the journal title, we will get a copy of the article for you from another medical or non-medical library for $14 per item.

Free Psychology Journals Online

Open Access Journal Sites

Table of Contents for Selected Titles

Many journals now have websites, providing the table of contents and access to selected articles in the current printed journal. The following is a selection of journals with links to view current and past issues.

What Free Journal Access Exists?

To find psychology journals that have free full text for Alaskans, visit SLED, choose Academic Search Premier from the Resources A-Z list.  Click the Publications link, then type in psychology in the search box and choose the By Subject & Description option.  385 titles were retrieved on 3/19/11.  Many with full text.  The same process will work in other databases within the Digital Pipeline.

 

Article Databases at UA Libraries

The following resources can be used by visiting one of the university campus libraries.  Unless noted, they are available at all UA libraries.

ETS Test Collection (UAA & community campus libraries)
Provides access to more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices from the early 1900's to the present.  more info

Oxford Reference Collection - Politics & Social Sciences
Search reference books by subject area.  more info

PsycInfo
Contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97% of the covered material is peer-reviewed.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.  more info

Psychology Journals
Nearly 300 academic journals in psychology and related fields all in full text from ProQuest.

Social Sciences Abstracts
Abstracts of articles on the social sciences.  more info

Social Sciences Citation Index (UAA and UAF)
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences.  more info

Mental Health News

Journal of Abnormal Psychology

Loading