Skip to main content

Della Keats Health Sciences Summer Program (WWAMI)

Word or Pages?

The Library homework is an Annotated Bibliography.  This will be created in stages and feedback will be given each week.  Due dates for each part of the assignment are listed below.  Each assignment will be uploaded to Google Drive.

You may choose to use Word (found on library computers) OR Pages (found on your iPad).  If you choose to use Pages, please follow these steps (which you can also find in your class handout):

  1. Within the document, tap the 'upload' icon (upper right), then select "Send a Copy."
  2. Choose "Word" format.
  3. Select "Google Drive."
  4. Find your student folder on Google Drive.
  5. Tap "Save here," then tap "Upload," then tap "Close" when done.
  6. Rename file starting with your last name, e.g., Smith Draft 1.

If you choose to use Word, save your document on the desktop or a thumb drive, then upload to Google Drive (see instructions in handout).  

At each class, you will be adding to the previous document, so with each class you will be turning in a revised version of one Annotated Bibliography.

Class 1: July 14

1)  Turn in your completed Library Audio Tour on July 14, at the beginning of class.

2)  MedlinePlus homework:

Create a Word/Pages document with your name, your topic, including the part you will be researching (general physiology/pathology OR prevention, treatment, and diagnosis), and the Medical Dictionary definition for at least one cause and one symptom of the disease you will be researching.

Upload the document to your student folder on Google Drive ("Della Keats - Library 2016") by 5pm on July 13th.  If you have difficulties, you may turn in a printed page of this assignment on July 14th at the beginning of the first library class.

3)  Review the research process.

4)  Use QuickSearch to find at least 3 articles on your topic.

Homework:

  • Upload each article to your student folder on Google Drive.
  • Create a Word/Pages document with the correct citation and annotation for each article.  This will be Draft 1 of your Annotated Bibliography.
  • Due: 10pm Friday, July 15th

Class 2: July 18

1)  Based on instructor feedback, fix citation errors in Draft 1 of your Annotated Bibliography.

2)  Using Academic Search Premier (ASP), find at least 3 articles on your topic. 

Homework

  • Upload each article to your student folder on Google Drive.
  • Open your Annotated Bibliography document and add the correct citation and annotation for each new article.  This will be Draft 2 of your Annotated Bibliography and should contain at least 6 article citations and annotations.
  • Upload this document to your student folder on Google Drive by 10pm, Tuesday, July 19th.

Class 3: July 21

1)  Based on instructor feedback, fix citation errors in Draft 2 of your Annotated Bibliography.

2)  Using QuickSearch or the Library Catalog, find at least 1 printed book or book chapter on your topic.  Ignore ebooks. 

3)  Scan or photograph the book cover and the first page of the relevant chapter. 

Homework

  • Open Draft 2 of your Annotated Bibliography.  Add the correct citation and annotation for the book/chapter.  This will be Draft 3 of your Annotated Bibliography and should contain at least 6 article citations and annotations and 1 book/chapter citation and annotation.
  • Upload the revised document, along with the scanned pages (or photos), to your student folder on Google Drive by 10pm, Thursday, July 21st.

Class 4: July 25

1)  Based on instructor feedback, fix citation errors in Draft 3 of your Annotated Bibliography.

2)  Complete 2 in-class website evaluation forms.

Homework

  • Find one relevant website on your topic.  Scan (or photograph) the website evaluation form.
  • Open Draft 3 of your Annotated Bibliography and add the website citation and annotation.  This will be Draft 4 of your Annotated Bibliography and should contain at least 6 article citations and annotations, at least 1 book/chapter citation and annotation, and 1 website citation and annotation.
  • Upload this document, along with the scanned page (or photo) of the website evaluation, to your student folder on Google Drive by 10pm, Monday, July 25th.

Final Library Project Due July 27

  1. Your Annotated Bibliography should now have ALL of the citations and annotations from the journals, books, and websites identified in previous classes.
  2. Add an introductory paragraph (and a title if there isn't one). 
  3. Post the Final Draft of your Annotated Bibliography in your student folder on Google Drive by 10pm, Wednesday, July 27.
  4. We will grade this document and return it to you by Monday, August 1. 

Your Annotated Bibliography should:

  • Be 2–3 pages long
  • Have a title
  • Begin with an introductory paragraph (~100 words) about your topic, what part (A or B) of the topic you researched, and what you hoped to discover. THIS IS REALLY IMPORTANT!
  • Have sections labeled as follows:
  1. Journal Articles (minimum 5 articles)
  1. ~ 100-word paragraph (annotation) for each journal article that includes:
  • why you chose that source
  • what did you learn,
  • how did it help to answer your question(s).
  • IT IS REALLY IMPORTANT that all 3 questions are answered
  1. Books (minimum 1 book or book chapter)
    1. ~ 100-word paragraph (annotation) for each journal article that includes:
  • why you chose that source
  • what did you learn,
  • how did it help to answer your question(s).
  • IT IS REALLY IMPORTANT that all 3 questions are answered
  1. Websites (minimum 1 website)
    1. ~ 100-word paragraph (annotation) for each website that includes:
  • why you chose that source
  • what did you learn,
  • how did it help to answer your question(s).
  • IT IS REALLY IMPORTANT that all 3 questions are answered

100 TOTAL POINTS: 60% finding relevant articles, 10% finding relevant books, 10% finding relevant websites, 10% for MedlinePlus homework, 5% for Audio Tour exercise, and 5% for completeness of annotated bibliography.

Plagiarism / Academic Honesty

Academic honesty is a cornerstone of university learning.  You may have heard the term plagiarims before.  What is plagiarism?

According to Merriam Webster’s Online Dictionary, to “plagiarize” means:

  • To steal and pass off (the ideas or words of another) as one’s own;
  • To use (another’s production) without crediting the source;
  • To commit literary theft;
  • To present as new and original an idea or product derived from an existing source.

Our librarians and other university faculty have created a website that addresses this sometimes complex topic. 

You might find these case studies interesting.